Colchester Rovers CC (SPOCO SE)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 26-Jun-22
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 47 Miles
  • Course: E22/47
  • Closing Date: 14-Jun-22 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wightman and Robinson climb to victories in Colchester Rovers CC 47

  • Published: 26 Jun 22
  • Written By: Snowdon Sports
F | T | G+
Louise Robinson

Sam Wightman (Team Bottrill) battled to victory by 12 seconds in the Colchester Rovers CC 47, while Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) was a clear winner in the women’s event.

Wightman, aged 44, completing the sporting course in a time of one hour, 54 minutes and 53 seconds to take his first win of the season.

The E22/47 saw riders start near Great Wigborough on the B1026 before heading straight upwards climbing up to Birch Green and then onto the B1022 through to Tiptree before descending down to Maldon and then back to the start.

Riders completed two laps of the course before carrying on to Peldon for the finish.

Nice summer conditions greeted riders for the event except some wind which slowed times slightly.

Veteran rider Wightman finished second in the sporting Elite CC 10 on his last outing but went one better this time out.

Fellow veteran Rob Chaplin (East London Velo) led the battle behind and finished a season’s best second position just 12 seconds back in 1-55-25.

Completing the podium position was David Pennington (Southend Wheelers) who won the Maldon & District sporting 25 last month but had to settle for third on this occasion in 1-57-10.

In the women’s event Robinson was an emphatic winner clocking a time of 2-04-02 which was 16 minutes quicker than her nearest rival.

Jennie Page (Southend Wheelers) finished second in 2-18-13 while Sue Rogers (Crest CC) 2:29.10 finished third.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Sam Wightman (Team Bottrill) 1:54.53

2 Rob Chaplin (East London Velo) 1:55.25

3 David Pennington (Southend Wheelers) 1:57.10

4 Dominic Bray (Finsbury Park CC) 2:03.40

5 Simon Neatham (Finsbury Park CC) 2:05.00

6 Ian Bibby (Finsbury Park CC) 2:07.44



1 Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) 2:04.02

2 Jennie Page (Southend Wheelers) 2:18.13

3 Sue Rogers (Crest CC) 2:29.10

4 Christine Boalch (Colchester Rovers CC) 2:30.04

5 Marion Denby (Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club) 2:30.49

6 Maria Johnson (Colchester Rovers CC) 2:49.29