Blazing Saddles

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Oct-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 1 Miles
  • Course: PHC91
  • Closing Date: 26-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Laverack and Senior battle to victories in Blazing Saddles climb

  • Published: 04 Oct 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Laura Senior. Credit: Chris Wallis.

Scratch rider Ed Laverack (Backpedal) clinched his third hill climb victory from as many events in the Blazing Saddles hill-climb, while Laura Senior (Saint Piran) was fastest female.

The former national hill climb champion from 2019, Laverack posted a winning time of three minutes and 28.9 seconds which was 21 seconds clear of his nearest rival.

It was the fifth annual hill climb hosted by Blazing Saddles on the PHC91 climb starting near Charlton with the steepest section of 11.5% towards the bottom before levelling out an average of 5.3% over the 1.6 kilometres.

Despite blue skies before the start of the event by the time the first rider got underway strong gusts of wind and driving rain greeted riders.

Laverack won the Lakes Road Club event last weekend and was once again a victor over the shorter climb.

Luke Walton (North Hampshire RC) led the charge behind taking second place in 3-49.3 while Gabe Dellar (Southampton University Road CC) placed third (3-51.0).

After winning the Brighton Mitre Hilly 10 earlier this season Senior clinched her second win of the season in the women’s event.

The Saint Piran rider clocked a time of 4-29.5 which beat veteran Elise Sherwell (Look Mum No Hands!) into second (4-50.9) while fellow veteran Lucy Mitchell (…a3crg) finished third in 5-03.5.

Fastest veteran was James Smee (Chichester City Riders) whose time of 4-14.48 was good enough for sixth place overall.

One place better than Smee overall was quickest junior Jonathan Vickers (Blazing Saddles) in 4-03.8 which placed him fifth.

Fastest juvenile Digby Llewellyn (Poole Wheelers CC) was also amongst the top-10 overall finishing eighth in 4-24.1.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Ed Laverack (Backpedal) 3:28.9
2 Luke Walton (North Hampshire RC) 3:49.3
3 Gabe Dellar (Southampton University Road CC) 3:51.0
4 Paul Barnard (Precise Performance RT) 4:02.4
5 Jonathan Vickers (Blazing Saddles) 4:03.8
6 James Smee (Chichester City Riders) 4:14.48

Junior: Jonathan Vickers (Blazing Saddles) 4:03.8
Juvenile: Digby Llewellyn (Poole Wheelers CC) 4:24.1


1 Laura Senior (Saint Piran) 4:29.5
2 Elise Sherwell (Look Mum No Hands!) 4:50.9
3 Lucy Mitchell (…a3crg) 5:03.5