Harrogate Nova CC (Yorkshire Spoco Event)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Sep-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: V212
  • Closing Date: 14-Sep-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Rees and Smith charge to victories in Harrogate Nova CC 10

  • Published: 26 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Under-23 rider Oliver Rees (Holmfirth CC) took his first ever open time trial victory winning the Harrogate Nova CC 10 by 13 seconds, while Josie Smith (Barnsley Road Club) won the women’s event.

The 20-year-old clocked a winning time of 20 minutes and 14 seconds which was an average speed of over 29.6 miles per hour.

The V212 course sees riders start south of Boroughbridge before riders competed down the A168 with a gradual descent to the turn at Walshford before making the tougher and slightly longer return journey to the finish.

Rees’ only other ride this season came in the Bramley Wheelers CC 10 when his time of 21-56 was good enough for seventh, his winning time on this occasion was over a minute and a half faster.

Veteran rider Marcel Schubert (Darlington Cycling Club) has been on fine form this season with 10 wins to his name coming into the event.

However, he was to be denied on this occasion placing second in 20-27 while Mark Walker (Hull Thursday RC) finished third (21-48).

Schubert was also the quickest veteran rider ahead of Matthew Asquith (Team Sportslab) in 22-10 while Gareth Tupling (Harworth and District Cycling Club) placed third in the age category (22-26).

Meanwhile, Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club) was quickest veteran 50+ clocking 22-32 for eighth place overall.

In the women’s event Smith added another victory to her collection with her time of 23-26 just 13 seconds clear of her nearest challenger.

Smith has had a successful month having also won the Holmfirth CC 10 and Yorkshire Road Club 25 this month.

The fight for second could not have been closer as veteran rider Sarah Lewthwaite (Team Sportslab) and under-23 Abi Smith (Team Breeze) both finished in exactly 23-39.

Second veteran woman was Madeline Moore (TORQ Performance) in 25-00 while Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC) finished third in the age category (25-17).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.