VTTA (Yorkshire)(Pref to VTTA members)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Sep-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: V714
  • Closing Date: 31-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Yarwood and Foulds take victories in VTTA (Yorkshire) 10

  • Published: 12 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Darren Yarwood (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo) took his third victory of the season with a dominant display in the VTTA (Yorkshire) 10, while Sarah Foulds (Velo Culture) snatched victory by just four seconds in the women’s event.

Yarwood was the fastest veteran on standard and scratch with the 47-year-old recording a winning time of 20 minutes and 17 seconds.

The V714 saw riders start to the west of Gilberdyke before riders battled against a headwind along the B1230 out in the westerly direction to the turn at Howden after 4.5 miles.

Competitors had a tailwind for the longer return journey passing the start and traveling through Gilberdyke to the finish.

Yarwood has shown the range of his ability this season also winning the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 100 and the Cleveland Coureurs/VTTA 25 along with a sixth place in the RTTC National 12 hour Championship.

Fellow veteran Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) won the VTTA 10 last season clocking a time of 20-44 on that occasion.

This time out Dean went five seconds faster but had to settle for second this time out recording a time of 20-39.

In a tight finish for the podium positions Mark Wolstenholme (Swift Racing) finished just two seconds behind Dean in 20-41.

Graham Heaton (City RC Hull) narrowly missed the podium positions just six seconds further back settling for fourth in 21-47.

In the women’s event veteran rider Foulds continued her busy season by taking victory in a time of 25 minutes and 37 seconds.

Foulds finished second in the Darlington CC 10 last month but went one better on this occasion taking victory by four seconds in a tight finish.

Nikola Matthews (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) had to settle for second this time out in 25-41 while veteran Liz Ball (Valley Striders Cycling Club) finished a further five seconds back in third (25-46).

Amanda Dean (West Hull Ladies) was third veteran woman on scratch in 27-04.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Darren Yarwood (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo) 20.17
2 Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) 20.39
3 Mark Wolstenholme (Swift Racing) 20.41
4 Graham Heaton (City RC Hull) 21.47
5 Russ Richardson (Teesdale CRC) 22.04
6 Neil Cleminshaw (Chapeau! Vive Le Velo) 22.10

1 Sarah Foulds (Velo Culture) 25.37
2 Nikola Matthews (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) 25.41
3 Liz Ball (Valley Striders Cycling Club) 25.46
4 Amanda Dean (West Hull Ladies) 27.04