Yorkshire Road Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 17-Jul-21
  • Time: 12:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: V235
  • Closing Date: 01-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Allen and Goldthorpe charge to victories in Yorkshire RC 25

  • Published: 18 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Hayden Allen

Hayden Allen (PMRR) took his opening victory of the season in the Yorkshire RC 25, while Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC) won the women’s event.

Taking part in his first open 25 of the season Allen, aged 27, set a winning time of 53 minutes and 39 seconds – nearly two minutes quicker than his nearest rival.

The V235 saw riders start south of Boroughbridge before completing two laps of an out and back course along the A168, running adjacent to the A1, down to Walshford before making the return journey.

Allen finished second in the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 50 last weekend clocking 1-49-23 but went one better over the shorter distance in fine and very hot conditions.

Helen Goldthorpe

Richard Lilliker (Cleveland Wheelers CC) has been competing over sporting courses and road bike category events so far this season.

On this occasion he competed over the more traditional course and recorded a season’s best second place finish in a time of 55-31.

Junior rider Sam Kelly (East Lancashire RC) took six minutes off his open personal best time to take third place overall in 57-25.

In the women’s event veteran rider Goldthorpe took her third victory in a row recording a time of 1-04-06 which was five minutes clear of her nearest rival.

Goldthorpe added the win to her successes in both the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 50 and East Bradford 15.

Leading the chase behind was Rebecca Bland (York Cycleworks) who finished second in 1-09-11 which was a minute quicker than Liz Ball (Valley Striders Cycling Club) stopping the clock in 1-10-15.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Hayden Allen (PMRR) 53.39

2 Richard Lilliker (Cleveland Wheelers CC) 55.31

3 Sam Kelly (East Lancashire RC) 57.25

Junior: Sam Kelly (East Lancashire RC) 57.25


1 Helen Goldthorpe (Otley CC) 1:04.06

2 Rebecca Bland (York Cycleworks) 1:09.11

3 Liz Ball (Valley Striders Cycling Club) 1:10.15