Drighlington BC (YCF Points Series)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Jun-21
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: V236/1
  • Closing Date: 15-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Duggleby and Smith charge to victories in Drighlington BC 25

  • Published: 27 Jun 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Adam Duggleby passes another rider.

Adam Duggleby led a one-two for Chapeau! Vive Le Velo by taking victory in the Drighlington BC 25, while Josie Smith (Barnsley Road Club) won the women’s event.

Duggleby, from Leeds, took gold in the Para-cycling Road World Championships earlier this month as a tandem pilot and was once again in fine form finishing over two minutes clear of team-mate Richard Sharp.

The V236/1 saw riders complete two laps of an out and back course starting on the A168 and then A19 past Thirsk before making the return journey and repeating the course.

The wind conditions were good for the course blowing riders up the main climb but making for a tough opening leg.

It was Duggleby’s eighth individual win of the season finishing in a time of 46 minutes and 17 seconds.

Also riding for the Chapeau! Vive Le Velo team Richard Sharp finished second in 48-42 while Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) placed third (49-06).

Quickest veteran on scratch was Richard Dean (Rockingham CC) who placed sixth overall in 51-22.

Josie Smith

Julian Ramsbottom (Team Bottrill) was second veteran on scratch in 52-34 while Greg Elwell (Halifax Imperial Wheelers) was third (52-50).

Fastest junior rider was Jacob Riby (Team Sportslab) stopping the clock in an hour, one minute and 59 seconds.

Smith was equally as impressive in the women’s event by over five minutes in a winning time of 56 minutes and 53 seconds.

Smith had won the Vive Le Velo “Velocast” 10 earlier this month and was fourth in the Merlin Cycles Classic Series the previous day.

Leading the remains of the women’s field home was veteran Claire Jessop (Otley CC) who finished second in 1-02-23 while Sandra Burrows (Vive Le Velo) was third a further 42 seconds back (1-03-05).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.