Northampton & District CA (TT Series 5 of 7)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 03-Jul-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 11.2 Miles
  • Course: NC20
  • Closing Date: 24-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Pardoe and Smith charge to victories in Northampton & District CA 11.2

  • Published: 05 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Paul Pardoe

Veteran Paul Pardoe (Peterborough CC) took his second victory in as many weeks at the Northampton & District CA 11.2, while Tonya Smith (Fenland Clarion CC) won the women’s event.

Pardoe, aged 40, took his first win of the season in the ECCA 10 last weekend and was victorious by just four seconds on this occasion.

The Peterborough-based rider was pushed all the way but set a winning time of 24 minutes and 36 seconds.

The NC20 saw riders complete two laps of a course around the Northamptonshire countryside starting and finishing near Southwick.

The event stayed dry and muggy with competitors tested by the twisty nature of the course and vegetation at the side of the road causing visibility problems around the corners.

Scratch rider Pardoe had six podiums to his name this season before last weekend’s maiden win, but has now won two is as many weeks.

 Edward Calow (Royal Air Force Cycling Association) was just four seconds behind in 24-40 taking a second-best second position.

Another close battle was for third with Sam McDonald (St Neots CC) finishing in 25-04 which was just 17 seconds faster than Malcolm Smith (Peterborough CC).

Quickest junior was Tom Thorpe (Fenland Clarion CC) who clocked a time of 26-06 which was good enough for seventh overall.

In the road bike category Philip Wilkinson (Milton Keynes RC) took victory posting a winning time of 27-44.

In the women’s event veteran rider Smith took victory by over a minute with a winning time of 29-40.

Smith’s only other ride this season was to finish third in the Northampton & District CA 20.8, but she went two places better on this occasion.

Taking second place was Lisa Jane Lait (Peterborough CC) who posted a time of 30-46.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Paul Pardoe (Peterborough CC) 24.36
2 Edward Calow (Royal Air Force Cycling Association) 24.40
3 Sam McDonald (St Neots CC) 25.04
4 Malcolm Smith (Peterborough CC) 25.21
5 Jamie Murray (Peterborough CC) 25.35
6 Hans Van Nierop (Welland Valley CC) 25.59
7 Tom Thorpe (Fenland Clarion CC) 26.06
8 Simon Pitchford (Fenland Clarion CC) 26.15
9 Josh Van Nierop (Welland Valley CC) 26.41
10 Simon Murphy (St Neots CC) 26.47

Junior: Tom Thorpe (Fenland Clarion CC) 26.06

Road bike: Philip Wilkinson (Milton Keynes RC) 27.44

1 Tonya Smith (Fenland Clarion CC) 29.40
2 Lisa Jane Lait (Peterborough CC) 30.46