Merlin Cycles Classic Series (3 of 6)(Dumfries CC)(Men)(entries close 29/06/21)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 11-Jul-21
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 26.2 Miles
  • Course: WS25/01
  • Closing Date: 29-Jun-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior

Big win for Richardson in Merlin Cycles Series finale

  • Published: 11 Jul 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Cameron Richardson

Scratch rider Cameron Richardson (RT 23) took a clear victory by over three minutes in the final round of the Merlin Cycles Classic Series organised by Dumfries CC.

Richardson, finished third in the fourth round of the series in May, but was not to be denied on this occasion despite suffering delays.

The 22-year-old was delayed by two tractors and a minibus on his way to clocking a winning time of 52 minutes and 41 seconds.

Meanwhile, Travis Bramley (Nopinz Motip Race Team) was confirmed overall series winner despite missing the final round, ahead of Toby Williams (Velotik Racing Team).

The final round of this year’s series saw riders competing over 26.2 miles of undulating terrain with 1,000 feet of climbing along the banks of Loch Ken.

After following the Loch Ken on the outward leg along the A713 the toughest roads came on the return leg of the event including the two main climbs.

Douglas Watson

The New Galloway climb came at approximately half distance and after the Lauriston turn at about mile 21. Gradients stayed under 4% and peaked around 6% on a few short sections.

Richardson used his strength on the climbs during the second half of the course to maintain an average speed of over 29.8 miles per hour on his way to victory.

Tommy Murray (GS Metro) led the chase behind taking second in 55-57 while Rory Downie (Roarsz Performance) completed the podium positions finishing third (57-30).

“I was quite happy with it,” said Richardson.

“Everybody was saying the road surface was bad and I didn’t expect it to be. I caught my minute man after 10 minutes so I thought I might be on for quite a good time.

“In my head I saw Kyle Gordon won in 2019 in just under 55 minutes so in my head I was pacing my ride for that time.

“I didn’t think I would win it after being stuck behind traffic as long as I did. I pushed on during the climbs to make up time and then stuck it in the 60x11 and cruised down the descents as my position is quite good.”

David Murphy

In the veteran’s category GTR - Return To Life recorded a one-two led by Douglas Watson who clocked a winning time of 55-30.

Finishing just 26 seconds behind his team-mate was Chris Smart (55-56) while James Cusick (Dooleys RT) completed the podium positions in 58-58.

The overall honours in the veteran’s scratch category went to Simon Dighton (Beacon Roads CC) ahead of Mark Sanders (Mid Devon CC) while Daryl May (Sheffrec CC) finished third.

Tables were turned in the veterans on standard category with Sanders taking overall victory from Dighton in second and May third.

David Murphy (Liverpool Mercury CC) took victory in the para-cycling category with his time of 1-04-06 beating Graeme Church (Team Milton Keynes) in 1-26-34.

Murphy also took the overall honours ahead of Church.

In the junior category Craig Paterson (East Kilbride Road Club) was a comfortable winner with his time of 1-01-06 beating Harry Barr (Newton Stewart Triathlon Club) into second 1-10-20.

Xavier Disley

Meanwhile, Patrick Casey (Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion) took the overall junior victory.

B Xavier Disley (AeroCoach) made the trip to Scotland worthwhile by taking the race and overall honours in the road bike category.

The 36-year-old, from Droitwich in Worcestershire, made the trip to Scotland to defend his lead in the series.

He did just that clocking an average speed of over 25.9 miles per hour to clock a winning time of one hour and 38 seconds.

John Dunlop (Loudoun Road Club) finished second on the day in 1-03-36 ahead of quickest veteran Bobby McGhee (Ayr Roads CC) in 1-04-37.

Second overall in the road bike category series behind Disley was Howard Heighton (Ferryhill Whs).

Thomas Heighton (Ferryhill Whs) won the junior road bike category clocking 1-06-37 and was also the overall victor.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


Craig Paterson