Rugby Racing Cycling Club (Women)(30 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 31-Jul-21
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: K11/10T
  • Closing Date: 20-Jul-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Hucks and Dixon come out on top in historic Rugby RCC 10

  • Published: 01 Aug 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Leah Dixon

Leah Dixon (Welsh Racing Academy) set a new women’s course record as she powered to victory in the Rugby RCC 10-mile time trial near Coventry, while Ollie Hucks (Nopinz Motip RT) was fastest overall.

29-year-old Dixon sliced more than one minute off the old mark with her time of 20-09, which was around two and a half minutes clear of runner-up Sian Marsh (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) who clocked in at 22:35, with Naomi de Pennington (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) third in 22:43.

22-year-old Hucks won overall by nearly 20 seconds with a time of 19-26. In second place was Luke Norris (Banbury Star Cyclists’ Club) who finished the course in 19:44, trailing him in third was Neal Parkin (Team Bottrill), he came in at 19:57 to fill the final podium spot.

Scratch-man Hucks marked this event with his fourth consecutive podium ride, also made it two wins in his last three open event rides. Last weekend he finished third in the Chronos RT 10.

Prior to this event all-rounder Dixon only had one open event finish on her CTT record, winning the Worcester St Johns CC 10 in June.

Marsh also set a new PB, her former best being set as 23:21 which she only set last month when she finished third behind

Ollie Hucks

first placed Dixon on that day also. De Pennington completed the hat-trick of women to set a new personal best in this event, her previous best stood at 23:19, she has now ridden a sub 23-minute time.

The winner of the road bike competition was Richard Lucas (Mapperley CC) who completed the course in 20:33.

All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Neral Buckley.




1. Ollie Hucks (Nopinz Motip Race Team) - 19:26

2. Luke Norris (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) - 19:44

3. Neal Parkin (Team Bottrill) - 19:57

4. Nicholas Cousins (Ilkeston Cycle Club) - 20:13

5. Tim Hood (Team Bottrill) - 20:23

6. Jon Howard (Team Echelon) - 20:27



1. Leah Dixon (Welsh Racing Academy) - 20:09

2. Sian Marsh (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) - 22:35

3. Naomi de Pennington (Banbury Star Cyclists' Club) - 22:43

4. Denise Burrows (AeroCoach) - 23:03

5. Janet Birkmyre (TORQ Performance) - 23:22

6. Fiona Prew (Stone Wheelers CC) - 23:32


Road Bikes:

1. Richard Lucas (Mapperley CC) - 20:33

2. Michael Costello (Race Hub) - 22:26

3. Mark Wise (Team Jewson) - 22:34

4. Karl Moseley (Bridgnorth CC) - 22:54

5. Barney Hussey-Yeo (Rapha CC) - 23:18

6. Simon Ryder (Syston Riders) - 24:57