Plomesgate C.C.

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Sep-21
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: B10/36R
  • Closing Date: 31-Aug-21 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Proffitt and O’Brien take victories in Plomesgate CC 10

  • Published: 12 Sep 21
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Andy Proffitt. (File photo by Fergus Muir).

Andy Proffitt (Arctic Aircon RT) took victory by the smallest of margins winning the Plomesgate CC 10 by a single second, while Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) won the women’s event.

Veteran rider Proffitt was the scratch man and took his third victory of the season in a time of 20 minutes and six seconds.

Matt O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) was the rider who unfortunately had to settle for second just a single second behind the winner.

The B10/36R saw riders start outside Wickham Market before heading out on the slightly uphill leg towards the turn at Woodbridge on the A12 before the slightly easier return journey.

Conditions were good for the event with only a slight north-westerly breeze for riders to battle against in mild and dry conditions.

Proffitt also won the VC Norwich 25 and East Anglian VTTA 10 earlier this season and was victorious once again.

Matt O’Brien finished second in the Rider Harder 10 in July and had to settle for the runner-up spot again on this occasion clocking 20-07.

Fellow Loose Cannon's Conditioning rider James Potter led the charge behind recording a season’s best finish of third place in 20-36.

Fastest junior William Carlyon (Ipswich BC) recorded a personal best time of 22-08 to finish in sixth position overall.

In the women’s event Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) continued her impressive season by adding another win to her collection.

During her first season of open time trial action veteran rider O’Brien has won a host of events with her last coming in the Diss & District CC 25.

Over the shorter distance on this occasion O’Brien recorded a winning time of 22 minutes and 40 seconds.

Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) beat O’Brien to win the Stowmarket & District 10 last weekend, but the result was reversed on this occasion with Davies having to settle for second in 23-07.

Verity Smith (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) was second veteran and third place overall completing the course in 24-28.

Meanwhile, third veteran and fourth place overall was Sue Chittock (Army Cycling) clocking 28-13.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Andy Proffitt (Arctic Aircon RT) 20.06
2 Matt O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 20.07
3 James Potter (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 20.36
4 Matthew Peck (Ipswich BC) 21.46
5 Simon Daw (CC Sudbury) 21.56
6 William Carlyon (Ipswich BC) 22.08

Junior: William Carlyon (Ipswich BC) 22.08

1 Hannah O’Brien (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 22.40
2 Laura Davies (Orwell Velo) 23.07
3 Verity Smith (Loose Cannon's Conditioning) 24.28
4 Sue Chittock (Army Cycling) 28.13
5 Cheryl Tye (Plomesgate CC) 28.42
6 Josephine Rosier (Ipswich BC) 29.30