British Emergency services Championship (Emergency services only)(entries close 12/09/20)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 19-Sep-20
  • Time: 18:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: WW10/03
  • Closing Date: 12-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Butler and Smyth take British Emergency Services Championship 10 crowns

  • Published: 20 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Veterans Richard Butler (Kendal Cycling Club) and Hazel Smyth (Fechan Flyers) took the British Emergency Services Championship 10 men’s and women’s victories in their first ever open event outing.

Despite windy conditions on the Scottish coast Butler clocked a winning time of 19 minutes and 54 seconds to take a fine victory.

The WW10/03 course was used for the National 10 in 2018 when John Archibald won in a time of 18-18.

Riders start outside Kilwinning before joining the A78 Irvine Bypass on a traditional out and back style course.

Butler finished 24 seconds clear of his nearest rival which came in the form of Andrew Hall (GS Metro) whose time of 20-18 was enough for second.

The battle for third could not have been closer with Terry Wilkinson (Barnesbury CC) finishing in 20-41, a single second ahead of David Lines (Espresso).

Lines was rewarded for his effort by being crowned Veteran Champion.

First rider to start was Smyth whose respectable time of 23-20 was comfortably enough for the women’s victory ahead of Esther Hamill (Dumfries CC) in 25-33.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Richard Butler (Kendal Cycling Club) 19.54
2 Andrew Hall (GS Metro) 20.18
3 Terry Wilkinson (Barnesbury CC) 20.41
4 David Lines (Espresso) 20.42
5 Nev Martin (Velo Culture) 21.04
6 Gavin Church (Studio Velo) 21.08
7 William Bonar (GTR- Return to Life) 21.13
8 David Ross (Falkirk BC) 21.39
9 Adam Baines (Transition Race Team) 21.45
10 Graham Rands (Manchester Triathlon Club) 21.47

Veteran: David Lines (Espresso)

1 Hazel Smyth (Fechan Flyers) 23.20
2 Esther Hamill (Dumfries CC) 25.33