…a3crg Glorious Goodwood Circuit TT (TT Bikes) (Men)(5 laps)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Sep-20
  • Time: 07:30
  • Distance: 11.8 Miles
  • Course: P917
  • Closing Date: 28-Aug-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Smith and George charge to victories at a3crg Glorious Goodwood Circuit

  • Published: 08 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Matthew Smith (TMC) powered his way to an opening victory of the season in the a3crg Glorious Goodwood Circuit event over 11.8 miles on the closed circuit, while Jennifer George (Memorial-Santos) continued her winning run at the circuit in the women’s event.

A3crg hosted another great morning at Glorious Goodwood and it lived up to its name with a very light wind and sunshine for the 170 riders, with the younger age categories boosting the entry number.  

Smith had finished in the top 10 six times ahead of the event including a second in the Sussex CA 30 in July.

On this occasion he topped the men’s time trial bike podium clocking exactly 30 miles per hour on his way to setting a winning time of 23 minutes and 36 seconds.

Under-23 rider Josh Copley (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling P/b Trainsharp) will have to continue his search for victory after missing out on the win by just two seconds, settling for second in 23-38.

Leading a tight battle for third place was Ben Williams (GS Mossa) who saw off two other challengers for the final podium spot finishing in 23-52.

In the women’s time trial event George also tasted victory at Glorious Goodwood last month and despite going 17 seconds slower on this occasion her time of 25-59 was quick enough for first again.

Veteran Angela Carpenter of the host club finished second in 26-19 while Connie Hayes (Liv Awol) finished third in 27-21.

Like the men’s time trial event the road bike race was also a close contest with just two seconds separating the top two.

After finishing second in his last outing at Glorious Goodwood on his road bike James Bonham (Paceline RT) went one better taking the win in 25-24.

Nick Tyrie (Primera-Teamjobs) finished second in 25-26 while under-23 rider Cai Davies (Finchley RT) finished third in 25-58.

Veteran Elise Sherwell (Look Mum No Hands) took her third victory in as many visits in the women’s road bike category.

Sherwell’s winning time of 28-15 was 31 seconds quicker than her nearest rival Laura Senior (Velo Club Godalming & Haslemere) while Fran Marshman (Portsmouth North End CC) finished third in 33-12.

Also completing five laps were the juvenile 14 to 15 years category which was led home by Matthew Gilmour (Velo Club Venta) in 26-39.

Second was Oliie Boarer (I-Team Cyclist Club) clocking 28-01 while Alexander Murphy (Velo Club Venta) finished third in 28-28.

Phoebe Roche (WXC World Racing) was quickest juvenile girl in 29-54.

Over three laps in the juveniles aged 10 to 13 years event Zach Walters of host club a3crg set a new course record doing three laps in 17-06, knocking three seconds off the previous record.

Ewan Cook (West Wight Wheelers) finished second in 18-27, just two seconds faster than Edwin Boyle (Preston Park Youth CC).

The quickest girl was Zoe Roche (WXC World Racing) clocking 19-46 in fourth overall.

Eight Lotus Boardman bikes were racing in their own category and were led home by veteran Dan Sadler (AeroCoach) in 25-16.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.