ECCA (150 Solos)(Pref to slowest riders)(Members of ECCA affiliated clubs only)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Sep-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: e2/10
  • Closing Date: 01-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Veterans Norman and Robinson clinch victories at ECCA 10

  • Published: 13 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Louise Robinson

Simon Norman (Bedfordshire Road RT) took his first open victory of the season in the Eastern Counties CA 10-mile time trial, while Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) was a clear victor in the women’s event.

Norman, aged 50 and from Bedford, clocked a winning time of 19 minutes and 52 seconds on his first open outing of the season in a tight finish which saw the top six riders separated by 15 seconds.

The E2/10 saw riders battle it out on an out and back course between just outside Six Mile Bottom down the A11 and turning at Fourwentways in Cambridgeshire.

Norman’s time in windy conditions was enough to take victory by eight seconds ahead of Paul Lunn (Fenland Clarion CC) in 20-00 while Dave Bell (Cambridge CC) finished a further two seconds down clocking 20-02 in a tight finish.

Next week Norman will be hoping to continue his run of form in the Hemel Hempstead 10.

In the women’s event veteran rider Robinson took victory by 32 seconds clocking a time of 22-02 despite the tough conditions.

The 44-year-old finished second in the East Anglian VTTA 10 last month clocking 23-53 but went much faster to take victory on this occasion.

Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) finished second in 22-34 while Lisa Hurrell (Maldon & District CC) completed the medal placings a further 26 seconds down in 24-00.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission



1 Simon Norman (Bedfordshire Road RT) 19.52
2 Paul Lunn (Fenland Clarion CC) 20.00
3 Dave Bell (Cambridge CC) 20.02
=4 Darren Bennett (Ely & District CC) 20.06
=4 Sam Brown (6AM Cycling) 20.06
6 Rob Young (Team Vision Racing) 20.07
7 Rafal Radziej (Ciclos Uno) 20.19
8 Leon West (CC Sudbury) 20.25
9 Peter Harding (Chelmer CC) 20.34
10 Malcolm Smith (Peterborough CC) 20.44

1 Louise Robinson (Essex Roads CC) 22.02
2 Lindsay Clarke (Fenland Clarion CC) 22.34
3 Lisa Hurrell (Maldon & District CC) 24.00