Newbury Velo (men)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 27-Sep-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 1.2 Miles
  • Course: hhc020a
  • Closing Date: 15-Sep-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Coulson and Jones charge to course records in Newbury Velo HC

  • Published: 29 Sep 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Bithja Jones

Under-23 rider Matthew Coulson (Oxford University CC) and Bithja Jones (Pankhurst Cycles) saw off strong opposition to clinch the men’s and women’s victories and course records in the Newbury Velo HC.

Riding his first open event of the season Coulson clocked a winning time of three minutes and 39.94 seconds on the Malbury HC, smashing Richard Gildea's existing record by 15 seconds.

The strong northerly wind favoured a fast day on the 1.8 kilometres in length Malbury HC which has an average gradient of 6% and maximum of 12% close to the top with the course record broken five times.

New British "Everesting" record holder Max Stedman (Hunt Bike Wheels) was second in 3-45.20 while National Hill Climb Champion Ed Laverack ( finished third in 3-49.170.

Robert West (Aerocoach) was quickest veteran in 4-20.2 ahead of Nick Morgan (Hitchin Nomads CC) taking second clocking 4-25.5 while Steve Thomas (Bristol Road Club) finished third in 4-28.6.

Daniel Goodwin (trainSharp Development Team) was fastest junior in 4-16.2 while Finlay Hawker (VC de Londres) was quickest juvenile in 4-13.3.

Vision Innovative Leisure Race Team was the fastest team comprising of Joshua Knowles, Gareth Davies and Oscar Clark.

The fastest under-14 rider was Daniel Phillips (WORX Factory Racing powered by Silverstone).

The women’s course record, previously held by Joss Lowden (4-46), also tumbled as veteran rider Jones stormed up the climb in a winning time of 4-39.7.

A close battle for second saw Emma Grant (University of Bath CC) finished second in 4-53.39 while Rebecca Seal (Fareham Wheelers) finished third less than a second behind in 4-53.75.

Newbury Velo was the fastest team comprising of Mireille Cook, Samantha O’Connell and Emma Davies.

Meanwhile, quickest junior was Libby Smithson (Liv AWOL) in 5-36.9, the under-16 victor was Niamh Murphy (Liv CC Halo Cycles) in 5-52.6 and the under-14 winner was Anna Patterson (Palmer Park Velo) in 6-23.0.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1 Matthew Coulson (Oxford University CC) 3.39.9
2 Max Steadman ( 3.45.2
3 Ed Laverack ( 3.49.1
4 Craig Rogers (Cambridge University CC) 3.49.7
5 Joe Baker (Spirit Tifosi RT) 3.52.2
6 Joshua Avery (Brother UK- Team OnForm) 3.55.7
7 Robert Rogers (Loughborough Students CC) 3.57.0
8 Kirk Vickers (Holohan Coaching Race Team) 3.59.1
9 Oliver Hurdle (University of Southampton RC) 4.01.9
10 Ellis Pullinger (Rugby Velo) 4.09.2

Team: Vision Innovative Leisure Race Team (Joshua Knowles, Gareth Davies, Oscar Clark)

Veteran: Robert West (Aerocoach) 4.20.2
Junior: Daniel Goodwin (trainSharp Development Team) 4.16.2
Under-16: Finlay Hawker (VC de Londres) 4.13.3
Under-14: Daniel Phillips (WORX Factory Racing powered by Silverstone)

1 Bithja Jones (Pankhurst Cycles) 4.39.7
2 Emma Grant (University of Bath CC) 4.53.3
3 Rebecca Seal (Fareham Wheelers CC) 4.53.7

Team: Newbury Velo (Mireille Cook, Samantha O’Connell, Emma Davies)
Junior: Libby Smithson (Liv AWOL) 5.36.9
Under-16: Niamh Murphy (Liv CC Halo Cycles) 5.52.6
Under-14: Anna Patterson (Palmer Park Velo) 6.23.0