Coventry CC (60 riders)(Women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Aug-20
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: K11/10T
  • Closing Date: 28-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bramley and Simmonds storm to victories in Coventry CC 10

  • Published: 09 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Hayley Simmonds

Travis Bramley (Plymouth Corinthian CC) was a surprise winner in the Coventry CC 10 taking over a minute off his previous best open mark, while Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) set a new course record in the women’s event.

Former triathlete Bramley has turned his hand to cycling and showed his improvements to beat a field of 126 finishers and won the event by two seconds in a time of 19 minutes and 10 seconds.

Big fields lined up in both the men’s and women’s categories for the afternoon out and back 10 along the A45 between Dunchurch and Ryton-on-Dunsmore.

Riders were met by hot and windy conditions which hampered times but did not stop 21-year-old Bramley who also won the Saint Piran 10 before lockdown in 21-42.

His improvement from that occasion was impressive as he clocked a winning time of 19-10 in Coventry.

Bramley won the British Youth Elite Series in triathlon, but a back injury took him out of the sport for 18 months.

Travis Bramley

While attending Loughborough University Bramley committed himself to cycling and showed his improvement with his second win of the year.

Narrowly missing out on the victory by just two seconds was fellow under-23 rider Michael Gill (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) who took his third podium place since the re-start in 19-12.

George Goodwin (Rugby Racing Cycling Club) rounded off the podium in 19.21, a close finish saw the top 10 all finishing within 38 seconds of the winner.

The women’s event was dominated by Simmonds who despite less than perfect conditions clocked a new women’s course record time of 20-31.

Finishing a minute behind her rival was National 50 silver medallist Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) in 21.32 while Liz Powell (Drag2Zero) rounded off the podium in 22.38.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1 Travis Bramley (Plymouth Corinthian CC) 19.10
2 Michael Gill (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) 19.12
3 George Goodwin (Rugby Racing Cycling Club) 19.21
4 Ollie Hucks (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) 19.28
5 Alex Pritchard (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) 19.30
6 David Mead (Race Rapid) 19.32
7 Marinus Petersen (Loughborough Students CC) 19.36
8 Oliver Peckover (ActiveEdge Race Team) 19.37
=9 Zachary Herrod (AeroLab Ward Wheelz) 19.48
=9 Matthew Bottrill (Team Bottrill) 19.48

1 Hayley Simmonds (AeroCoach) 20.31
2 Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) 21.32
3 Liz Powell (Drag2Zero) 22.38
4 April Tacey (Drops Cycling) 22.47
5 Debbie Bradley (Team Bottrill) 23.34
6 Janet Birkmyre (Torq Performance) 24.02