Wigan Whs CC (NLTTTA Championship)(Preference North DC Clubs)(Closing date 28/07/20)(max 90 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Aug-20
  • Time: 18:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L1015
  • Closing Date: 28-Jul-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wilson and Booth battle to victories in Wigan Wheelers 10

  • Published: 16 Aug 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Simon Wilson

After being beaten into second place last weekend Simon Wilson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) was not to be denied again as he stormed to victory in the Wigan Wheelers 10, while Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) won the women’s event.

Wilson was edged out on the same course a week earlier by team-mate Dan Bigham in the Croston Velo 10.

Despite slightly windier conditions 40-year-old Wilson stormed along the out and back A590 in Cumbria in a time of 18 minutes and two seconds.

Phil Jones (Drag2Zero) showed the work he had been doing during lockdown to set a personal best open time of 18-29 on his return to action, which was good enough for a joint second place

Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) finished fifth on the same course last week and despite going a second slower on this occasion matched the time of 18-29 to share second.

After finishing third woman in the Croston Velo 10 last weekend 41-year-old Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) went 43 seconds quicker on this occasion to win the event in 20-55.

Rebecca Rimmington (Team Merlin) finished second in 21-02 while Christina Wiejak (Jadan CycleSpace) took third in 21-30, just two seconds faster than Harriet Gilson (Tri Preston).

Erica Booth

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

1 Simon Wilson (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 18.02
=2 Philip Jones (Drag2Zero) 18.29
=2 Alexander Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club) 18.29
4 Ben Granger (CCCR) 18.43
5 Aidan Lawrence (HMT Hospitals Giant Cycling) 19.01
6 Patrick Hickey (Rossendale RC) 19.07
7 Danny Glyn Roberts (Clwb Beicio Egni/Energy) 19.13
8 Ben Stead (3 RT) 19.16
9 Matthew Roberts  (Clwb Beicio Egni/Energy) 19.24
10 Tony Greenhalgh (Team Chronomaster) 19.29

1 Erica Booth (Lancashire RC) 20.55
2 Rebecca Rimmington (Team Merlin) 21.02
3 Christina Wiejak (Jadan CycleSpace) 21.30
4 Harriet Gilson (Tri Preston) 21.32
5 Sammie Stewart (Crimson Orientation Marketing) 21.33

Tandem: Sharon Clifford & Phil Barnes (SheHair Racing Team) 22.31