Lancaster CC (Hilly)(NLTTA Spoco)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Mar-20
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 21.6 Miles
  • Course: L211
  • Closing Date: 03-Mar-20 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bickley and Rushton power to victories in

  • Published: 16 Mar 20
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Claire Rushton

Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) got his season off to a perfect start with a narrow victory in the Lancaster CC Hilly 21.6, while Claire Rushton (Kent Valley RC) took a clear win in the women’s event.

Bickley, aged 37, took a host of victories last season including those in the Border City Whls 10, VC Cumbria 25 and Kent Valley RC 25 amongst others and showed his fine early season form to take victory by seven seconds.

The L211 course is one of two halves and starts north of Caton, near Lancaster, before following the River Lune north on the fast and wide A683 for the opening seven miles.

The route continues on fast roads until the half-way mark at Kirkby Lonsdale when the return journey takes in lumpier and smaller roads before gradually climbing up to the finish.

Despite chilly conditions Bickley clocked an average speed of almost 26 miles per hour on his way to setting a winning time of 49 minutes and 55 seconds.

In a close battle for the podium positions Thomas Clough (Springfield Financial RT) finished seven seconds behind in 52.02 while Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Whls) took third a further 12 seconds adrift.

In the women’s event Rushton set a winning time of 1:07.25 which was two minutes and 20 seconds quicker than Amy Whelan (Barrow Central Whls).

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Richard Bickley (Border City Whls CC) 49.55
2 Thomas Clough (Springfield Financial RT) 52.02
3 Alastair Ribbands (Manchester Whls) 52.14
4 Derek Parkinson  (Springfield Financial RT) 52.39
5 Ben Barlow (Kendal CC) 53.12
6 Paul David Fleming (Preston Whls) 54.58
7 Bryan Pool (Border City Whls CC) 55.09
8 Philip Knupfer (Manchester Bicycle Club) 55.57
9 Phil Shaw (Kent Valley RC) 57.28
10 Jimmy Froggatt (SKCC) 57.41
Team: Kent Valley RC

1 Claire Rushton (Kent Valley RC) 1:07.25
2 Amy Whelan (Barrow Central Whls) 1:09.45