…a3crg Buriton Ten (Women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 07-Aug-19
  • Time: 19:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: p883
  • Closing Date: 31-Jul-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Victory for Smith and Peters in a3crg Buriton 10

  • Published: 11 Aug 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Caitlin Peters

Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) and Caitlin Peters (Storey Racing) were fastest male and female respectively at the last of 13 midweek events staged by a3crg through the summer.

All year racer Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) came out on top in the men's event only eleven seconds down on his previous week’s time, while other regular riders were dropping a whole minute.

Probably the other stand out performance was from 22-year-old Ben Williams (i-team Cyclists Club) in fifth place whose time was little different to the previous week, he also recorded a 49:54 in his first 25-mile event at the beginning of June, also on the A3.

Second on the day was Chris Loake (AeroCoach) who was just two seconds behind Smith, while Henry Latimer (Didcot Phoenix CC) was another six seconds back in third.

In the women's event it was again junior Caitlin Peters (Storey Racing) ruling the roost, winning by 32 seconds with the grim August weather not fazing her at all.  At the prize giving she was able to pick up the prizes for first overall and first junior.

Behind Peters was a trio of a3crg riders, with Angela Carpenter securing second with 21-47, while Sarah Matthews and Kirsty McSeveney were third and fourth respectively with 22-28 and 22-35.

Mark Smith

This season Caitlin has spent more time honing her time trial skills at the a3crg events and marshalling when not able to race, saying that it's an evening well spent seeing how riders take the turns.

The P883 course uses the Petersfield bypass. Most riders on Wednesday were at the turn within ten minutes, but the return leg saw them face a strong headwind and many hopes of a PB were dashed.

In other categories AeroCoach won the team prize with Loake being joined in the winning trio by Bryce Dyer and Dan Sadler. Sam Clark (Hargroves Montezuma’s was top junior with 20-14, while Gavin Hinxman (Drag2Zero) was top veteran on standard on a trike with a +8.12 and actual time of 22-05.

The Summer Series on the A3 three has been very successful with the men's 15 record being broken twice, a new women's 15 record, a new men's team 15 record & a host of VTTA age records.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Ben Williams.