City Cycle Couriers RT

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 08-Jun-19
  • Time: 19:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: s4/10
  • Closing Date: 28-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Wins for Langworthy and Jowett in Devon

  • Published: 09 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Vicky Jowett

Matt Langworthy and Vicky Jowett powered to victory as City Cycle Couriers staged a 10-mile time trial in Devon on Saturday.

Langworthy, the 22-year-old from Torquay who rides for Mid-Devon CC, covered the S4/10 course near Buckfastleigh in 19-12 to take the win by eight seconds from David Hewett (Active Edge Race Team) with Netherlands-based rider Jack Allison (GS Henley) third, another 32 seconds off the pace.

Plymouth-based Jowett, 35 and riding for Plymouth Corinthian CC, clocked 22-46 to finish as fastest female by 1-25 from Stacey Ginieres (Penzance Wheelers), while Maria Weymouth (Mid-Devon CC) was third fastest female in 24-13.

Tavistock Wheelers’ Gavin Macdougall was fastest veteran, the 52-year-old finishing fourth overall with 20-25, while Luke Halls was the quickest junior rider, the North Devon Wheelers 17-year-old clocking 20-45 for sixth overall.

The popular S4/10 used the A38, starting to the south of Buckfastleigh and heading up to Ashburton, where the riders turn and retrace to finish just before the start point.

Second in the National 25 Championships last year, Langworthy has already notched up several victories in 2019 including the Alltrax 10 and Mid-Devon CC 10 in May, both of which were on the same course.

But conditions today meant that his winning time was a little slower than on both those occasions, with the Alltrax event on May 15 giving him his current personal best of 18-54.

Langworthy is next due to be in action in the midweek Tavistock Wheelers 10, while he has also entered the Penzance Wheelers 25 next Sunday and the Mid-Devon CC 25 the following week.

Vicky Jowett is also no stranger to victories in 2019, having secured four wins prior to today’s City Cycle Couriers event. She was first woman at the Plymouth Corinthian CC 13 in March as well as the Mid-Devon CC 23 in April. Then in May she won the Alltrax 10 and the Bikepace 50.

She is sure to go on and notch up more victories as the season progresses, and is down to ride the Mid-Devon CC 25 and Revo Racing 10 later this month.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos   Name        Team  Cat   Time

1     Matt  Langworthy  Mid Devon CC      S22   19.12

2     David Hewett      ActiveEdge Race Team    S24   19.20

3     Jack  Allison     G.S. Henley S30   19.52

4     Gavin Macdougall  Tavistock Whs CC  V52   20.25

5     Joshua      Clark Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA S20   20.33

6     Luke  Halls North Devon Wheelers    J17   20.45

7     Andrew      White Bpm Coaching      S23   20.47

8     Rob   Scott City Cycle Couriers RT  S31   20.50

9     Lubos Obornik     CS Dynamo   V52   20.57

10    Paul  Walshe      Plymouth Corinthian CC  V43   21.07

11    Mark  Emsley      Wellington Wheelers Cycling Club    S30   21.20

12    Keith Satchwell   Plymouth Corinthian CC  V46   21.30

13    James Cartlidge   Plymouth Corinthian CC  S31   21.30

14    Andrew      Parnowski   City Cycle Couriers RT  V48   21.33

15    Mark  Pierce      Plymouth Corinthian CC  S29   21.53

16    Lee   Adams Tavistock Whs CC  S31   21.59

17    Kevin Weymouth    Mid Devon CC      V48   22.07

18    Tim   Heal  Mid Devon CC      V50   22.23

19    Alan  Hughes      Exeter Triathlon Club   V46   22.24

20    Peter Miners      Lanhydrock Wheelers     V46   22.25

21    Harry Loader      Team Bottrill     S23   22.30

22    Adam  Gitlin      Plymouth Corinthian CC  V47   22.32

23    Vicky Jowett      Plymouth Corinthian CC  Lady  22.46

24    Rob   Barrow      Exeter Whs CC     V42   22.58

25    Peter Norris      Cycle Sport South Hams  V43   23.09

26    Doug  Parker      Sid Valley CC     V56   23.18

27    Craig Woodward    Plymouth Corinthian CC  V55   23.56

28    Jonathan    Ellis Plymouth Corinthian CC  S38   24.10

29    Stacey      Ginieres    Penzance Wheelers CC    Lady  24.11

30    Patrick     Coombe      Mid Devon CC      V53   24.13

31    Maria Weymouth    Mid Devon CC      Lady  24.51

32    Robert      Cartlidge   Plymouth Corinthian CC  S35   25.00

33    Ian   Deakin      Mid Devon CC      V62   25.06

34    Mike  Rose  Exeter Whs CC     V63   25.09

35    Rose  Willis      St Austell Whs CC Lady  25.43

36    Philip      Young Alltrax     V69   25.58

37    Juliana     Allen Alltrax     Lady  26.32

38    Ivor  Pooke City Cycle Couriers RT  V69   28.52

39    Keith Parsons     City Cycle Couriers RT  V59   30.15

40    Bob   Brabbins    Somerset Road Club      V76   DNF

41    William     Ginieres    Penzance Wheelers CC    S35   DNF

42    Jacob Keatt Chelmer CC  S23   DNS

43    Nikki Toomer      Exeter Whs CC     Lady  DNS

44    Garry Drew  Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA V54   DNS apol

45    Mark  German      1st Chard Wheelers      V60   DNS apol

46    Dominic     Start Mid Devon CC      V47   DNS apol

47    James Grogan S26   DNS apol