Yorkshire RC (Cheques to S Smith)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 16-Jun-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Course: v225
  • Closing Date: 04-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Dean and Sharp dominate in Yorkshire

  • Published: 16 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Richard Dean

Richard Dean and Fiona Sharp rode superbly to top the podium at the Yorkshire Road Club 25-mile time trial that took place near Boroughbridge in North Yorkshire on Sunday morning.

Dean (Rockingham CC) finished his run with a time of 53-59 to claim the top prize on the day.

This was Dean’s first victory of the open season although the riders has achieved numerous podium finishes already this campaign, most notably finishing third at the Drighlington BC 10 last weekend.

Fiona Sharp (Team Swift) clocked a time of 1-02-10 to be the fastest female rider on the day respectively.

Sharp was also victorious last weekend, when she topped the podium at the Drighlington BC 10 and will be hoping to continue her fine form over the coming weeks.

Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) was the man to claim the second spot on the podium, after he finished his run with a time of 55-09.

Fiona Sharp

Wolstenholme last achieved a podium finish at the Seacroft Wheelers 10 in April and will be looking to find some form over the coming weeks as he is set to ride at the VTTA National 50-mile Championships in Yorkshire on the 22nd of June.

Third place as claimed by Joseph Dobson (Manchester BC) who clocked a time of 55-13 to claim the last of the prize money respectively.

The out and back course saw the riders both start and finish near Boroughbridge on the A161 which runs parallel to the A1.

They the headed along the A161 towards Walshford before making a turn and heading back along the same route to Boroughbridge before making another turn and heading to the finish.

A 15-mile event also ran at the same time as the 25 and Ian Guilor and Sandra Burrows both topped the podium respectively.

Guilor (Mapperley CC) clocked a time of 33-16 to claim the top prize.

Guilor last achieved a podium finish at the Lincolnshire RRA two-up 18.3 in March and will be looking to add more to his tally throughout the remainder of this season. He is next set to ride at the VTTA 10 on the 29th of June.

Sandra Burrows (Vive le Velo) finished her run with a time of 43-54 to finish as fastest female.

Burrows last achieved a podium finish at the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 25 on the fifth of May, where she finished third. She is next due to ride at the YCF hill climb at Cragg Vale Hill on the 25th of June.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Ben Gretton.



25-mile TT:

1. Richard Dean (Rockingham CC)    53.59

2. Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 55.09

3. Joseph Dobson (Manchester BC)   55.13


1. Fiona Sharp (Team Swift)   1:02.10

2. Sue Spindler (Ravensthorpe CC)    1:12.25

Veterans 40-59: Anthony Ashworth (Wetherby Wheelers)   55.17

60-69: John Eric Potter (Bridlington CC)       1:07.16

Over-70s: Walter Wilkinson (Harrogate Nova CC)    1:06.27


15-Mile TT: Ian Guilor (Mapperley CC)         33.16

Women: Sandra Burrows (Vive le Velo)        43.54

Over-60s: Gareth Metcalfe (Otley CC)          36.24