Severn RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Feb-19
  • Time: 09:30
  • Distance: 12.3 Miles
  • Course: u17
  • Closing Date: 12-Feb-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fast times despite course change in Severn Road Club TT

  • Published: 27 Feb 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Joanne Jago

There were some strong performance in the Severn Road Club time trial on Sunday, despite the event having to be shortened to around 12.3 miles because of traffic lights on the course near Stone.

After taking a solo victory in the Salt and Sham CC 10 the previous day, 42-year-old Jonathan Gates teamed up with his Royal Air Force Cycling Association colleague Robert Willcocks, 38, to win the two-up event in a time of 25-05.

That was 1-22 quicker than the next best pairing of Hugh Brashaw (Univ of Bristol CC) and Andrew Kirby (73 Degrees Bicycles) whose time of 26-27 was 20 seconds quicker than the third-placed pair of Michael Cross (Yorkshire RC) and Ted Cross (Univ of Bristol CC).

And in the women’s category, the University of Bristol CC dominated with the win going to 28-year-old Josie Rawes and 25-year-old Kate Mactear with 30-23, which was 1-07 quicker than Rebekah Nash and Charlotte Davies of the same club.

The solo time trial also saw some great performances.

The fastest overall was 22-year-old Felix Wilkinson (Velo Club Montpellier) in 25-42, while he was just eight seconds quicker than Nick Livermore (Bristol South CC) in second with Josh Griffith (Bikestrong-KTM) in third, another 19 seconds adrift.

The fastest solo female rider was the prolific 38-year-old Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles) in 30-44, which was 1-45 quicker than Emma Bexson (Stratford CC).

The veterans categories also saw some great time, with Luke Smith (Bristol South CC) covering the revised course in an impressive 28-19 to claim ninth spot overall, while Les Liddiard (Team Jewson-MI Racing) clocked 29-44 to win the over-60s category and place 15th overall in a field of 40 solo riders.

Finally, the tandem prize went to Bristol South CC pair Joanne Knight and Andrew Legge in 28-39.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.