GTR Return to Life (District Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-Oct-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: WW1/03
  • Closing Date: 06-Oct-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

O’Brien and Baird climb to wins in GTR Return to Life HC

  • Published: 13 Oct 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Alex O'Brien

Alex O’Brien (Garstang CC) crossed over the border to clinch the GTR Return to Life hill-climb which incorporated the Scottish District Championships, while Patricia Baird (Ecosse Performance Cycling Coaching) won the women’s event.

O’Brien, who also won the Leigh Premier RC last week, made it two wins in as many weeks finishing eight seconds clear of his nearest rival.

The 1.8-mile hill climb saw riders start on the outskirts of Elderslie before rising steadily over the opening 1.5-mile and then kicking up sharply for the finish.

O’Brien clocked a time of six minutes and 42 seconds to take the event victory, clocking an average speed of over 16 miles per hour. But due to not being a member of a Scottish club O’Bbrien wasn’t eligible for the Scottish District Championship gold medal.

That went to second placed rider on the day Chris Smart (GTR-Return to Life) finishing in 6.50 while Ben Norris (Dooleys RT) took third overall and silver medal.

Scott Newman (Glasgow Couriers) took the district bronze medal before crashing on the descent and needing hospital treatment.

Quickest veteran was Callum Macdonald (Ayr Roads CC) in sixth place overall clocking 7.32.

Local rider Louie Urquhart-Dixon (Johnstone Wheelers) was the fastest juvenile rider taking eighth overall in 7.45.

After winning the GTR Return to Life 10 earlier this season veteran rider Baird showed she is just as comfortable over the hilly terrain to win the women’s event in nine minutes and 43 seconds.

She was chased home by fellow veteran Aileen Fisher (Ayr Roads CC) who took second in 10.30.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Alex O’Brien (Garstang CC) 6.42
2 Chris Smart (GTR-Return to Life) 6.50
3 Ben Norris (Dooleys RT) 7.00
4 Dean Cunningham (Transition RT) 7.19
5 Scott Newman (Glasgow Couriers) 7.24
6 Callum Macdonald (Ayr Roads CC) 7.32
7 Neil Griffiths (Glasgow Wheelers) 7.41
8 Louie Urquhart-Dixon (Johnstone Wheelers) 7.45
9 Jesse Dawson (Glasgow Nightingale CC) 7.50
10 Ian Archibald (Johnstone Wheelers) 7.52

Veteran: Callum Macdonald (Ayr Roads CC) 7.32

Juvenile: Louie Urquhart-Dixon (Johnstone Wheelers) 7.45


1 Patricia Baird (Ecosse Performance Cycling Coaching) 9.43
2 Aileen Fisher (Ayr Roads CC) 10.30