North Lancashire Time Trial Association (includes the National VTTA Championship) (NLTTA Championship)(Entries close 02/07/19)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Jul-19
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: L10010
  • Closing Date: 02-Jul-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Rietdorf and Bideau in Cumbria

  • Published: 15 Jul 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Katja Rietdorf

Katja Rietdorf and Richard Bideau were fastest at the North Lancs TTA George Nowland Memorial 100-Mile time trial in Cumbria on Sunday morning.

The event near Braithwaite incorporated the VTTA National Championships, and the winners in that competition were Trike rider Gavin Hinxman (DRAG2ZERO) and Born to Bike’s Rietdorf once again.

The L10010 course takes riders from the start near Braithwaite along the A66 to Keswick before turning and retracing up alongside Bassenthwaite Lake and then through Embleton and on to Cockermouth before returning. They complete three more journeys up and down the same roads, before finishing alongside Bassenthwaite Lake on the southward leg of the final lap.

48-year-old Bideau covered the course in 3-32-29 to take the win by more than seven minutes from Andrew Whiteside (Bella in Sella), and Craig Horsman (Beacon Wheelers) was third, another couple of minutes back.

Meanwhile Rietdorf, the 48-year-old from Milton Keynes who is a former National 12-Hour champion, clocked 4-08-02 to win the women’s event by more than seven minutes from Deborah Moss (Team Merlin, while Joanne Cebrat (Bury Clarion) was third.

Gavin Hinxman

And in the VTTA National 100-Mile Championships, Gavin Hinxman (DRAG2ZERO) took an impressive win, the 51-year-old from Northamptonshire riding a trike and recording an age plus of +79.28 to take the win narrowly from Bideau with +78.43, while Andrew Whiteside was third.

The women’s VTTA national title went to Rietdorf with a plus of +67.59, while Moss was second and Teresa Taylor (Ribble Valley-Crossroads) was third.

Conditions were good for the event with a little bit of wind but no rain.

This result is the latest in a string of victories for Bideau, most recently the Border City Wheelers 25 last weekend as well as the VTTA Lancs and Lakes 50, Blackburn & Dist CTC 10.6, West Pennine 25 and Preston Wheelers 25 in June.

Rietdorf’s win was the first of the season according to her record, although she placed second in the CC Breckland 50 and Bossard Wheelers 25 in June, as well as third in the VTTA National 25-Mile Championship.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Richard Bideau (Pendle Forest CC)           3-32-29

2. Andrew Whiteside (Bella in Sella) 3-39-36

3. Craig Horsman (Beacon Wheelers) 3-41-50

4. Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers)    3-44-15

5. Derek Parkinson (Springfield Financial)     3-47-14


1. Katja Rietdorf (Born to Bike)        4-08-02

2. Deborah Moss (Team Merlin)         4-15-46

3. Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC)       4-31-55

Team: Springfield Financial (Derek Parkinson, Paul Russell 4-04-08, Matt Stell 4-00-47) 11-52-09


VTTA National Championships:

1. Gavin Hinxman (DRAG2ZERO)   +79.28 (Trike)

2. Richard Bideau       +78.43

3. Andrew Whiteside  +68.44


1. Katja Rietdorf         +67.59

2. Deborah Moss         +61.18

3. Teresa Taylor (Ribble Valley-Crossroads)  +51.56