Houghton Cycling Club (Quarrington Hill)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Oct-19
  • Time: 11:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: MH10
  • Closing Date: 01-Oct-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Spencer and Farran victorious in Durham

  • Published: 13 Oct 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Nick Spencer

Inclement conditions held off long enough for Hannah Farran and Nick Spencer to climb to victory in the Houghton CC hill-climb on Quarrington Hill near Durham on Sunday.

Nick Spencer (Blumilk.com) captured another Houghton CC hill-climb title after victory back in 2017.

Despite going slower than in his previous win two years ago, Spencer’s time of 2-00 was all that was needed to secure a second victory in 2019, and a second in his last three events on record.

“This is one of my favourite hill climbs of the year, because it’s short and steep – the shorter and steeper the better for me!  I always find the opening hill climb of the season a nightmare up here as it’s rolling – this one I really love and look forward to every year, so of course the week I get sick, happened to be this one! 

“I’m delighted to get the win if not a little bit disappointed to dip under the two-minute mark.  The last time I rode I think I did a 1-52 something, so I would like to break 1-50 but today wasn’t to be the day.  My last event is next weekend’s Muckle CC hill climb, so looking to do well in that one” said Spencer.

The 40-year-old beat Wilson-Jay Brown (PM Racing UK) who finished second in 2-02.8 while Jamie Johnson (Barnesbury CC) was third.

Hannah Farran

Hannah Farran (Team Boompods) topped the women’s category thanks to a time of 2-34.6, finishing four seconds ahead of second placed Sarah Wilkinson (Blaydon CC).

“I’m really pleased with today’s ride” said Hannah after the event. 

“I enjoy the short sharp climbs so this course really suited me.  I paced it well and the heavy rain just about held off for everyone, thankfully.  Happy to take the win!” she continued.

Sarah Wilkinson clocked a time of 2-38.9. while Angela McGurk (Blaydon CC) was third in 3-19.8.

Archie Murdoch (Racing Metro 15) finished with an impressive time of 2-21.2 to finish as top juvenile and inside the overall top 10 in eight.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



Archie Murdoch

Position   Name Club Gender     Category   Time

1    Nick Spencer    Blumilk.Com     Male Vet  2-00.0    

2    Wilson-Jay Brown PM Racing UK    Male Senior     2-02.8    

3    Jamie Johnson   Barnesbury CC   Male Senior     2-04.2    

4    Colin Atkinson  Muckle Cycle Club     Male Vet  2-08.8    

5    Stuart Matthews Infinity Cycles - Cube Store Cycling Team   Male Senior     2-11.8    

5    Michael Harcourt Team Bikestop Tyrekey Male Senior     2-11.8    

7    Arne Beswick    Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles     Male Senior     2-12.0    

8    Archie Murdoch  Racing Metro 15 Male Juvenile   2-21.2    

9    Joe Stringer    Muckle Cycle Club     Male Senior     2-21.8    

10   Mark Snape Fietsen Tempo   Male Vet  2-22.6    

11   Sam Leng   AIMS Cycling    Male Senior     2-29.6    

12   Hannah Farran   Team Boompods   Female     Senior     2-34.6    

13   Sarah Wilkinson Blaydon CC Female     Vet  2-38.9    

14   Barry Fordham   Cestria C.C.    Male Vet  2-43.6    

15   Euan Dinning    Gosforth RC     Male Juvenile   2-45.4    

16   Anthony Burrell Houghton CC     Male Vet  2-53.0    

17   Ian Clark  Backyard Bootleggers  Male Espoir     3-07.8    

18   Angela Mcgurk   Blaydon CC Female     Senior     3-19.8    

19   Joe Mcmillan    Blaydon CC Male Vet  3-38.6