Thanet RC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 23-Jun-19
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: q25/10
  • Closing Date: 11-Jun-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell sets new course record in Kent

  • Published: 23 Jun 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell

Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaler) was in superb form as usual as he powered to victory whilst breaking the Q25/10 course record, while Susan Walbrook took women’s glory in the Thanet RC 25-mile open event on Sunday.

The younger of the Fennell brothers, Chris took advantage of the sunny weekend conditions as he set a blistering time of 48-41. His winning time shed over a minute off the previous record of 49-50, set by none other than Fennell himself.

Fennell’s form this season has been nothing short of impressive – the 23-year-old has now racked up 12 wins from his 13 starts with the only blotch on his record being a third place.

Like many a race down in Kent, Chris was joined by older brother Nic Fennell (Thanet RC) who finished second in 51-42 to record his 13th podium finish – three wins amongst those.

James Odendaal (Gravesend CC) completed the major placings in third with a time of 53-43.

Susan Walbrook (Folkestone Velo Club) topped the women’s category timesheets by a considerable margin.

In 2019, Walbrook recorded a fourth and third place in her first two solo starts before adding two victories – of which this is one – to her palmares.

The 45-year-old stopped the timekeeper’s watch on 1-06-33 in her second victory of the year, finishing three minutes ahead of second place.

Victoria Fearn (Twickenham CC) was the woman in second in 1-09-33 with Jenny Fearn (Thanet RC) third in 1-25-20.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



Pos. Name Club Cat  Time

1    Chris Fennell   The Independent Pedaler    S    48:41

2    Nic Fennell     Thanet RC  S    51:42

3    James Odendaal  Gravesend CC    E    53:43

4    Keith Brown     Southborough & Dist. Whs   V    54:43

5    Mark Hill Aerosmiths V    55:19

6    John Osborn     Folkestone Velo Club V    55:51

7    Dean Chiddention     Abellio - SFA Racing Team  V    56:09

8    Adrian Hawkins  Thanet RC  V    56:19

9    Tim Kingston    GS Invicta V    57:10

10   Jimmy George    VO2 Maximum RT  S    57:21

11   Lee Kingston    Medway Velo Club     V    57:26

12   Kevin Wilson    Crest CC   S    58:06

13   Mark Newton     Elite Cycling   V    58:09

14   Paul Smith Aerosmiths V    58:10

15   Steve Jezzard   PMR  V    58:51

16   Simon Henderson Thanet RC  V    59:01

17   Scott Meeks     Thanet RC  V    59:22

18   Lee Buckman     Ashford Whs     V    59:29

19=  Steve Perriss   Thanet RC  S    1:00:55

19=  Dave Moffat     Thanet RC  S    1:00:55

21   Paul Cloudsdale Bigfoot CC V    1:01:02

22   Danny Frost     Folkestone Velo Club V    1:01:36

23   Neal Watson     7Oaks Tri Club  V    1:01:46

24   Mark Thomas     Bigfoot CC V    1:02:40

25   Matt Fearn Sheppey Velo    S    1:02:48

26   Chris Bax  PMR  V    1:03:12

27   Andy Macpherson VC Deal    V    1:03:19

28   Paul Kirkness   Thanet RC  V    1:04:15

29   Michael Coulter Gravesend CC    V    1:05:30

30   Matt Nunn  Medway Velo Club     S    1:05:55

31   Jeremy Benson   VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles    S    1:06:06

32   Susan Walbrook  Folkestone Velo Club WV   1:06:33

33   Paul Kelk  Thanet RC  V    1:07:46

34   Simon Charles   Thanet RC  V    1:09:22

35   Victoria Fearn  Twickenham CC   W    1:09:33

36   Pete Huckstep   Thanet RC  V    1:10:06

37   Richard Claxton VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles    V    1:10:10

38   Graham Strugnell     Kassei CC TeknoFuel  V    1:11:31

39   Andy Burrows    Thanet RC  V    1:12:51

40   Colin Inett     Thanet RC  V    1:12:54

41   Vernon Thomas   VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles    V    1:18:52

42   Jenny Fearn     Thanet RC  WV   1:25:20


     Shawn Manning   Thanet RC  V    DNF

     Peter Rowe Southborough & Dist. Whs   V    DNF

     Charmaine Pullen     Folkestone Velo Club WV   DNF

     Mark Doxey Abellio - SFA Racing Team  V    DNF

     Robert Sissons  Thanet RC  V    DNS (Apol)

     Alex Pearson    Wildcats CC     V    DNS (Apol)