Medway Velo Club

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Mar-19
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 21.9 Miles
  • Course: qs/7
  • Closing Date: 12-Mar-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Dickson and Smith victorious in Medway Velo Club’s 10

  • Published: 24 Mar 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Seb Dickson

Sally Smith and Sebastian Dickson powered to authoritative wins in the Medway Velo Club 21.9-mile time trial in Kent on Sunday.

Dickson stormed to a 36-second victory over Nic Fennell, the Cambridge University CC rider making it his second victory in the month of March after two-up glory a fortnight ago – the 23-year-old crossing the line in 49-30.

A three-time winner in 2018, Dickson looks on track to have a better season already within the first few months of the time trialling season.

Kent circuit regular Nic Fennell (Thanet RC) was second with a time of 50-06 to add to his win in the VTTA Kent 10 the previous day. Fennell has been out of action since a fifth place in the National Closed Circuit Championships last season but has a few events on the horizon.

Joshua Clark (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA) capped off the podium spots with a time of 52-18. The podium is Clark’s first in open events since April 2018 with a third place in Thanet RC’s 9.5-mile two-up.

Home club rider Sally Smith topped the women’s timesheets – a 1-09-48 gave her a maiden open win according to CTT records.

Smith participated infrequently in 2018 with finishes of seventh and third respectively but the 39-year-old’s time on Sunday was good enough for a 1-37 margin of victory. Lisa Hurrell (Maldon & District CC) finished second in 1-11-25.

Fourth placed Neil Harrigan (Gravesend CC) topped the veteran’s standings by 1-39 after crossing the finish in 52-51.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.



Pos  Name Club Gender     Category   Time

1    Sebastian Dickson    Cambridge University CC    Male Senior     49:30

2    Nicholas Fennell     Thanet RC Male Senior     50:06

3    Joshua Clark    Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA   Male Espoir     52:18

4    Neil Harrigan   Gravesend CC    Male Veteran    52:51

5    William Murtagh Rye & District Wheelers CC Male Espoir     53:48

6    Alex Pearson    Wildcats CC     Male Veteran    54:30

7    Tjeerd Mijzen   Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    55:34

8    Antony Bee Wigmore CC Male Veteran    56:12

9    Keith Brown Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    56:34

10   Carl Chapman    GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical- Herbert Cycles  Male Veteran     58:55

11   Dean Chapman    Ashford Road CC Male Senior     59:13

12   Nick Elson Wildcats CC     Male Senior     59:22

13   Richard    Parrotte   Shaftesbury CC  Male Veteran    59:59

14   Paul Fairman    Abellio - SFA Racing Team  Male Veteran    1:00:26

15   Neal Marrin     Finsbury Park CC     Male Veteran    1:01:08

16   Peter Tibbitts   Ford CC    Male Veteran    1:01:08

17   Paul Simmons    Ashford Road CC Male C5   1:01:11

18   Andy Macpherson VC Deal    Male Veteran    1:01:30

19   Ron  Castelijn  Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    1:01:44

20   Michael    Stanley    Medway Velo Club     Male Veteran    1:02:19

21   Mark Amon Rye & District Wheelers CC Male Veteran    1:02:20

22   Steven     Waite Medway Velo Club     Male Veteran    1:03:53

23   Rob  Kennison   Medway Velo Club     Male Veteran    1:04:42

24   Robert     Sapp Medway Velo Club     Male Veteran    1:07:07

25   Sally Smith     Medway Velo Club     Female     Senior     1:09:48

26   Lisa Hurrell    Maldon & District CC Female     Senior     1:11:25

27   Jonathan   Hemming    Addiscombe CC   Male Veteran    1:11:30

28   Chris Parker     Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    1:15:40

     Paul Smith Aerosmiths Male Veteran    DNF

     James Molony     Durham University Cycling Club  Male Espoir     DNF - Mechanical

     Jill Cliff GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical- Herbert Cycles  Female     Veteran     DNS

     Mark Whittaker  GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical- Herbert Cycles  Male Veteran     DNS

     James Bromley    Becontree Wheelers CC Male Veteran    DNSA

     Tom  Rowing     Abellio - SFA Racing Team  Male Senior     DNSA

     Graham     Hurrell    Basildon CC     Male Veteran    DNSA

     Pete Elms Colour Tech RT  Male Veteran    DNSA