Warrington Road Club (Cheshire Points Series 8 of 20)(Including VTTA M/c NW Group)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-May-19
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: j4/16
  • Closing Date: 14-May-19 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Maironis and Martin top the podium in Cheshire

  • Published: 26 May 19
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Emily Martin

Emily Martin and Darren Maironis were top woman and man respectively in Warrington RC’s 50-mile time trial on Saturday after a last-minute course change.

Darren Maironis (Transition Race Team) clocked 1-49-16 and was the only person under 1-50-00. The 46-year-old’s time broke a string of third places in 2019 to stand atop the podium for the first time this year.

Roadworks meant Warrington Road Club had to make last minute alterations when hosting their 50-mile event by changing to a backup course.

The event went smoothly much to the pleasure of organisers on a good day conditions wise that produced some good times with a quarter of the field under the two-hour mark.

Darren Maironis

In second place was Maironis’ team-mate Adam Darby. The 34-year-old produced a solid ride of 1-50-39 that was only 11 seconds shy of equalling his personal best. Seamons CC rider Alan Chorley capped off the podium places, and secured his first top-three of the year with a time of 1-51-07.

In the women’s category, Emily Martin (Weaver Valley CC) was forceful in her assault on the rest of the field, taking victory by a margin of 4-17. The 29-year-old stopped the clocks on 2-09-34 on her way to doubling her win tally for the season to two.

Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC) finished second to Martin, clocking 2-13-51 which was a huge personal best for the just-turned 40-year-old, according to her CTT profile.

Michelle Fairclough (Salford CC) finished third in 2-18-37

In other categories, the team prize went to Seamons CC with Alan Chorley, Adrian Hughes and Ronan O’Cualain clocking a combined time of 5-40-00.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.

* A full gallery of images from this event by Kimroy Photography is available here



1. Darren Maironis (Transition Race Team)    1:49.16

2. Adam Darby (Transition Race Team)         1:50.39

3. Alan Chorley (Seamons CC)          1:51.07

4. Adrian Hughes (Seamons CC)       1:51.25

5. Alex Royle (Manchester Bicycle Club)      1:52.57

6. Rod Mason (Stockport Clarion CC)           1:53.05

7. Matthew Davies (Holohan Coaching Race Team) 1:54.12

8. Daniel Shackleton (ABC Centreville)        1:54.14

9. Bradley Murphy (SKCC)   1:54.42

10. Gavin Wright (Bury Clarion CC) 1:54.54



1. Emily Martin (Weaver Valley CC) 2:09.34

2. Joanna Cebrat (Bury Clarion CC)   2:13.51

3. Michelle Fairclough (Salford CC)  2:18.37