brighton mitre cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 06-Oct-18
  • Time: 14:30
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: gh/94
  • Closing Date: 25-Sep-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

More of the same from George and Perren in Sussex

  • Published: 07 Oct 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

After powering to victory on Steyning Bostal in the morning, Thomas Perren (Rapha CC) and Jennifer George (Torelli-Beastwear-Brother) took further victories in the afternoon Brighton Mitre CC hill-climb on Mill Hill in Shoreham.

28-year-old Perren clocked 9-12 for the 4,682-yard climb, giving him his second victory of the day by around 21 seconds. This time second spot went to Verulam CC’s Oliver Mytton, while David Ross (LFGSS CC) was third, another 18 seconds back.

And 35-year-old Jennifer George, the London-based rider who won this year’s Scottish Women’s National Road Race Championship, covered the course in 11.45 to make her the fastest woman up the hill by 33 seconds, with Olivia Webb (Eastbourne Rovers CC) second once again.

After a reasonable morning’s climb conditions had worsened for the afternoon event, with atrocious wind and rain leaving any course records comfortably on the shelf.

Prior to the two Brighton Mitre CC events on Saturday, Perren’s only other open hill-climb performance on record was at the Reading CC two-stage hill-climb two weeks before the Brighton Mitre event, where he finished fifth in a quality field of riders.

Jennifer George has several top level victories under her belt already, both against the clock and in bunched racing.

The current Scottish National Women’s Road Race Champion, the 35-year-old London-based rider also won the Tour of Omagh stage race in July. In time trialling, she placed 11th in both the National 10 and National 25 this year.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos      Name               Team   Time

1          Thomas            Perren  Rapha CC       9:12

2          Oliver  Mytton            Verulam CC    9:33

3          David  Ross    LFGSS CC     9:51

4          Peter    Tadros TrainSharp       9:52

5          Tony    Reeves GS Stella         10:26

6          Peter    Fry       Cowley Road Condors CC     10:33

7          Alex    Byrne-smith    LFGSS CC     10:35

8          Francis Schofield         Preston Park YCC      10:35

9          Theo    Tadros TrainSharp       10:39

10        James   Gilmore           Preston Park YCC      10:49


Women: Jennifer         George            Torelli-Beastwear-Brother      11:45