sussex ca

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Aug-18
  • Time: 10:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: g10/45
  • Closing Date: 14-Aug-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Boyman breaks record, Davis fastest female in Sussex CA 10

  • Published: 26 Aug 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
James Boyman

James Boyman (Hoops Velo) set a new course record, while Lisa Davis (Lewes Wanderers CC) was fastest of the women in the Sussex CA 10-mile event near Loxwood on Saturday.

Boyman, 30, clocked 20-43 to take two seconds from his own course record set last year for the G10/45, which takes riders in an anti-clockwise loop through Kirdford, Loxwood, Ifold and Plaistow.

The planned afternoon event was brought forward to 10am, due to a clash with a football match at the scheduled headquarters at Dial Post Village Hall. A north westerly breeze and temperatures of 15-17 degrees gave entrants cooler conditions than of late.

Boyman’s time was 1-44 quicker than second-placed Stuart Bettis (South Downs Bikes), while East Grinstead CC’s Mark Bashford was third, roughly another minute off the pace.

Lisa Davis

Lewes Wanderers rider Lisa Davis was fastest female with 26-32, Peter Davies (Brighton Mitre CC) was fastest on a road bike with 28-20, while there was a new junior course record from Michael Renardson (Trainsharp) who sliced just two seconds from the old mark with a time of 23-53.

Boyman, who rides road races as well as time trials, has already tasted victory in open time trials this year with a win in the a3crg 10 and Farnham Road Club 10 back in May, while in road racing he was first in the elite category Stockbridge Down Road Race.

Davis, who was 21 seconds slower than her winning time from this event 12 months earlier, has proved a prolific rider in 2018 so far and has secured a good share of victories.

She won the Sussex CA 30-mile event in July, and in June she was victorious in the East Sussex Ca 50 as well as the Southborough and District Wheelers 25.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1              James Boyman                  Hoops Velo                         20           43 course record

2              Stuart Bettis                       South Downs Bikes          22           27

3              Mark Bashford                  East Grinstead CC             23           21

4              Kevin Plummer                 South Downs Bikes          23           34

5              Michael Renardson         Trainsharp                           23           53

6              David Shepherd                A3crg                                     23           56

7              Andy Tedd                          South Downs Bikes          23           57

8              Brett Davis                          Lewes Wanderers CC      24           19

9              Dave Dawkins                    Portsmouth NE CC           24           21

10           Neil Crowther                    Worthing Excelsior CC    24           36

Team – South Downs Bikes (Stuart Bettis, Kevin Plummer, Andy Tedd) 1  9  58

1st Lady – Lisa Davis, Lewes Wanderers CC            26  32

1st Junior – Michael Renardson  Trainsharp           23  53 junior course record.

1st Road bike – Peter Davies, Brighton Mitre CC   28  20