bec cc (50% priority to women)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 26-May-18
  • Time: 06:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: g10/42
  • Closing Date: 15-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

McNamara and Jenkins take 10-mile victories in Surrey

  • Published: 27 May 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes/Casco Europe) and Pip Jenkins (Southborough & District Wheelers) powered their way to comfortable victories in the Bec CC 10 on Saturday.

McNamara rode his way to a 33-second victory ahead of Jamie Pine (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT) eventually crossing the line in 20-35.

McNamara built upon a solid start to his 2018 campaign which has seen the South Downs veteran place in the top four in seven out of his eight previous events this year. With wins in the Redhill CC 18 in February and the Sussex CA 25 earlier this month, McNamara’s triumph here in Surrey gives him a hattrick of victories.

Second placed man Jamie Pine’s time of 21-08 allowed him to equal his best finish of the 2018 season.

The 40-year-old from Walton-on-Thames had previously ridden to a second step on the podium at the North Hampshire RC but Pine’s ride on Saturday may be a step in the right direction after a couple of finishes outside the major placings.

Matt Peel (C&N Cycles RT) was the last man on the podium with a time of 21-34 but produced his best finish of the year after a previous best of fifth.

Pip Jenkins was a comfortable winner in the women’s category as she took victory over the 10-mile time trial by 1-18.

Jenkins continued her fine form and produced yet another podium finish of which she has been well accustomed to this year. Her win in a time of 23-34 continued her streak of placing in the top-three in all her seasons events so far.

The Southborough and District rider will look to continue her form going into the Hounslow and District Wheelers 100 on Sunday.

Julie Chasin (Twickenham CC) and Fiona Inskip (Boot Out Breast Cancer CC) finished second and third with times of 24-52 and 26-00 respectively.

In other categories, David Rumm (Southborough & District Wheelers) sealed the veteran on standard prize as the 50-year-old went 4-35+ ahead of standard time.

Paul Batten, Iain Duncan and James Cheeseman led the way in the team’s prize as they combined for a time of 1-09-09 to give Crawley Wheelers the victory.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Simon McNamara (South Downs Bikes/ Casco Europe)   20.35

2. Jamie Pine (Nuun-Sigma Sport-London RT)          21.08

3. Matt Peel (C and N Cycles RT)      21.34



1. Pip Jenkins (Southborough & District Wheelers)   23.34

2. Julie Chasin (Twickenham CC)      24.52

3. Fiona Inskip (Boot Out Breast Cancer CC)           26.00


Vets on standard:

1. David Rumm (Southborough & District Wheelers)           +4.35

2. Stuart Stow (Twickenham CC)      +4.24

3. Adrian Blacker (Norwood Paragon CC)    +4.00