CC Breckland (District Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Sep-18
  • Time: 15:00
  • Distance: 30 Miles
  • Course: B30/1B
  • Closing Date: 04-Sep-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Stancombe and Murley lead the way in Norfolk

  • Published: 16 Sep 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Andy Newham

Becky Murley and Ben Stancombe topped the solo categories but it was the tricycle team of Lincoln Wheelers that took the plaudits in the CC Breckland 30-mile event in Norfolk on Saturday.

Ian Pike, Andy Newham and Dan Linstead totalled a time of 3-39-03 to break the tricycle team 30-mile competition record which had stood for 37 years. The trio shaved a massive 8-41 off the previous record which had been set in 1981 by South Bucks Road Club.

In the solo men’s category, Team Velovelocity dominated the field taking a 1-2-3 in convincing fashion.

Ben Stancombe was the one who emerged victorious ahead of his team-mates as he crossed the line in 59-57, winning by a margin of 40 seconds.

The 29-year-old was the only man to average over 30 miles per hour on his way to his fifth win of the year and first in nearly two months.

Daniel Bloy was the next of the Velovelocity trio but didn’t have the legs to better Stancombe’s early set time, finishing second with a time of 1-00-37.

Dan Linstead

David Proctor finished third, 1-39 adrift of Bloy in 1-02-16 on a day where riders found the Snetterton-bound section of the course particularly tough.

Becky Murley (Wisbech Wheelers) made the best of the dry and warm temperatures in the women’s category as she powered to a 2-07 victory to stop Team Velovelocity sweeping up on the day.

August wasn’t the kindest of months to Murley as she one once and placed 11th and seventh on the other two occasions but the 43-year-old has seen a turn around in September with a second-place last weekend before taking the win this time around in a time of 1-09-08.

The win was Murley’s seventh of the season.

Kay Burgess (Team Velovelocity) was second in 1-11-15 with Jen Smart (VC Norwich) completing the podium in 1-12-58.

Third placed man David Proctor (Team Velovelocity) was also fastest veteran on standard, posting a time of +20-25.

Ian Pike

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.