Tyneside Vagabonds CC (N&DCA Championship)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Sep-18
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 100 Miles
  • Course: M100/10
  • Closing Date: 21-Aug-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Victory for Rea and Hutchinson in North East 100 Championship

  • Published: 03 Sep 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Thomas Hutchinson

Thomas Hutchinson and Joanne Rea were winners at the North East 100-Mile Championship, staged in Northumberland by Tyneside Vagabonds CC on Sunday.

Hutchinson, 22 and from Ponteland, clocked 4-02-26 to take the win by more than five minutes in his first 100-mile event.

Second spot went to Richard Sharp (Team Swift) with 4-07-46, while third was Ali Bailey (GS Metro) with 4-10-11.

And in the women’s race Blaydon CC rider Rea, 30 and from Prudhoe, clocked 4-47-25 in what was also her first 100-mile race. She was 2-41 quicker than second-placed female and Blaydon CC team-mate Gemma Hutchins.

“It was my first 100, so a great learning experience and an excellent end to my season,” said Hutchinson. “In hindsight, I probably consumed too much water inside of the first 30 minutes and consequently, I paid the price!

“After stopping twice I managed to find a decent rhythm so it’s a shame not to go sub 4 hours, that said, the wind was pretty brutal during the last two laps.”

Joanne Rea

And meanwhile, Rea said of her ride: “I felt pretty good on the first couple of laps but then the wind started to pick up. That said, my third lap split was better than my second which really surprised me!

“There are things I would change if doing a 100 again, but all a learning curve for my first attempt, having only done a 50 previously.  I probably didn’t drink as much as I thought I had and that showed in the last 20 minutes as I was pushing for the finish line.

“Six months ago I set myself a target of learning to ride my TT bike – I never thought for one moment that I would spend just over four hours on it and to finish my first ever TT season with a championship win! It really is fantastic.”

Conditions were warm and dry for the start, but the wind steadily picked up throughout the morning, making the course heavy going for all.

Also in the prizes was Ian Simon (Breeze Bikes) who was fastest over-40 veteran, while Martin Rasmussen (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) was quickest over-50 veteran and Philip Wheatley (AIMS Cycling) was fastest on a road bike.

Rasmussen’s ride was a personal best by 26 minutes and gave the Norwegian a top ten finish.



Pos                  Name   Team   Gender            Cat      Time

1          Thomas            Hutchinson      Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Senior  4:02:26

2          Richard           Sharp   Team Swift     Male    Senior  4:07:46

3          Ali       Bailey  GS Metro        Male    Senior  4:10:11

4          Nick    Badcock          Allen Valley Velo       Male    Senior  4:12:33

5          John     Routledge       Barnesbury CC           Male    Senior  4:20:05

6          Scott    Mccance          Derwentside CC         Male    Senior  4:25:10

7          Ian       Simon  Breeze Bikes RT         Male    Veteran           4:30:05

8          David  Swainson         Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           4:30:41

9          Martin Rasmussen      Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Veteran           4:33:59

10        Andrew           Dickson           Berwick Wheelers Cycling Club         Male    Senior  4:42:08

11        Gary    Simpson          Yorkshire Road Club  Male    Veteran           4:44:29

12        Joanne Rea      Blaydon CC    Female Senior  4:47:25

13        Gemma            Hutchins          Blaydon CC    Female Senior  4:50:06

14        Philip   Wheatley         AIMS Cycling            Male    Senior  4:50:28

15        Richard           Barnett            VELO CLUB 167      Male    Veteran           5:00:26

16        Carrie  Brookes           North Tyneside Riders CC     Female Veteran           5:01:41

17        Tania   Tucker Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Female Veteran           5:09:59

18        Claire   Cook   Muckle Cycle Club     Female Senior  5:12:33

19        Raymond        Bell      Derwentside CC         Male    Veteran           5:24:36

20        Sara     Cummings       Blaydon CC    Female Veteran           5:29:10

21        Shaun  Teasdale          Stockton Wheelers CC           Male    Veteran           5:35:36

22        Kath    Finn     Kendal Cycle Club     Female Veteran           5:35:59

23        Hannah            Baker   North Tyneside Riders CC     Female Senior  5:53:29

24        David  Penny  Houghton CC Male    Veteran           6:14:19

APOLS           Michael           Fisher Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Veteran           APOLS

APOLS           Richard           Bickley            Border City Whs CC  Male    Senior  APOLS

APOLS           Ken     Thursby           Tyneside Vagabonds CC        Male    Veteran           APOLS

DNF    Lee      Head   North Tyneside Riders CC     Male    Veteran           DNF

DNF    Andrew           Wilson Hartlepool CC Male    Veteran           DNF

DNF    Carl     Donaldson       GS Metro        Male    Senior  DNF

DNS    Stacey Stump  York Cycleworks        Male    Veteran           DNS

DNS    Julian   Macbride         Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  DNS

DNS    Mike    Potter  Scarborough Paragon CC       Male    Veteran           DNS

DNS    Sebastian         Stockbridge     Blaydon CC    Male    Senior  DNS