southborough & dist whs

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 12-May-18
  • Time: 14:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: q10/33
  • Closing Date: 01-May-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Lauder breaks course record in Kent

  • Published: 13 May 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Neil Lauder. Credit: Damon Ford

Neil Lauder (PMR @ Toachim House) blazed his way around the Q10/33 course just outside Tenterden on Saturday morning in a time of 20-13 which is believed to be a new course record.

Lauder built on his 2018 form, powering to his second win of the year – the 35-year-old from Ashford, Kent has only finished outside the top three in one of his eight 2018 races. Lauder improved from his second place at the a3crg 10-mile on Wednesday.

The win sees Lauder take a second victory in as many years in the event after winning the 2017 running by a slim five second margin. The win this year was much more convincing going 13 seconds quicker than last year, eventually winning by a margin of 1-30, no mean feat over a short 10-mile distance.

The man Neil Lauder beat to first was Andrew Meilak ( Aerosmiths) who posted a 21-43.

Meilak improved on his fifth place from last week’s Wigmore CC 25 to take the proverbial silver medal over the shorter 10-mile time trial.

James Ashburnham (Rye & District Wheelers CC) was only 18 seconds further afield of Meilak and edged his way into third spot by a narrow three seconds ahead of Martin Jones (Gemini BC) with a time of 22-05.

Debbie Percival (Kent Velo Girls/Boys) was the victor in the women’s category by 17 seconds. Her time of 26-29 was enough to pip Sarah-Anne Lucas (Folkestone Velo Club) to the women’s prize.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1    Neil Lauder     PMR @ Toachim House  Male Senior     20:13

2    Andrew Meilak Aerosmiths Male Veteran    21:43

3    James Ashburnham Rye & District Wheelers CC Male Senior     22:05

4    Martin Jones    Gemini BC  Male Veteran    22:08

5    Antony Bee      Wigmore CC Male Veteran    22:49

6    Adrian Hawkins  Thanet RC  Male Veteran    22:59

7    William Murtagh Ashford Road CC Male Espoir     23:00

8    Adrian Lyons    GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical- Herbert Cycles  Male Veteran     23:18

9    Sam Day    CS Grupetto     Male Veteran    23:18

10   Dave Stocker    Abellio - SFA Racing Team  Male Veteran    23:22

11   Matt Seward     Thanet RC  Male Senior     23:28

12   Steve Jezzard    PMR @ Toachim House  Male Veteran    23:50

13   Steven Melia-Chamberlain   Medway Velo Club     Male Senior     24:15

14   Stewart King    Ashford Whs     Male Veteran    24:27

15   David Churchill Direct Power Cycling Team  Male Veteran    24:53

16   David Dixon     Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    24:56

17   Robert Giles    PMR @ Toachim House  Male Veteran    25:21

18   David Millis    Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    25:44

19   Gary ricks Woolwich CC     Male Veteran    26:13

20   Mark Starbuck   CC Bexley  Male Veteran    26:25

21   Colin Jarman     Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    26:28

22   Debbie Percival Kent Velo Girls/Boys Female     Veteran    26:29

23   Mark Gidney     Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    26:35

24   Sarah-Anne Lucas Folkestone Velo Club Female     Veteran    26:46

25   John Mankelow   Lewes Wanderers CC   Male Veteran    26:46

26   Roger Wilson     Spinwheels Team Male Veteran    26:49

27   Martin Yardley  Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    26:55

28   Andrew Mclean   Rapha Cycling Club   Male Senior     27:08

29   Paul Kelk Thanet RC  Male Veteran    27:17

30   Natasha Jarman  Southborough & Dist. Whs   Female     Senior     28:36

31   Russ Mason Retro Racing    Male Veteran    28:49

32   Tim  Miles Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    29:09

33   Stephen    Ratcliffe  Spinwheels Team Male Veteran    31:02

34   Chris Parker     Hastings & St. Leonards CC Male Veteran    32:17

35   Michael Daniels Southborough & Dist. Whs   Male Veteran    32:41

36   Roy  White Spinwheels Team Male Veteran    33:08

37   Jim  O’Leary    GS Avanti  Male Veteran    33:40

38   Eric Bates Hythe Cycling Club   Male Veteran    34:34