team cambridge (men)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 14-Jul-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: F2D/10
  • Closing Date: 03-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Harwood powers to 10-mile win

  • Published: 15 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Brett Harwood

Brett Harwood won the 10-mile Team Cambridge event held at Cambourne on Saturday and was the only rider to go under 19 minutes.

The Team Bottrill – Vanguard rider averaged a speed of almost 32mph as he stormed to victory by a margin of 29 seconds.

With three wins in May the veteran has been in fine form and finished fifth at the RTTC National Circuit Championship in June.

His time of 18.57 was enough to see him top a podium made up entirely of veterans with Bedfordshire Road RT’s Mick Hodson second in 19.26 and Team Velovelocity’s Daniel Bloy third in 19.34.

A field of 19 women entered a separately listed event and it was Sophie Lankford who came out on top for Cardiff Ajax CC in a time of 21.22.

Lankford has taken back-to-back podiums now after finishing runner-up to the very quick Anna Turvey in a Stockton Wheelers event in June.

Team Bottrill – Vanguard veteran Wendy Gooding was second fastest on the day, missing out on first place by 15 seconds with a time of 22.37.

In third place, 26 seconds down on Gooding was another veteran rider, Team Milton Keynes’ Linda Dewhurst. CC Sudbury rider Isabella Johnson put in a great performance to take the juvenile award with 23.48.

Gary Pamment and Barry McDonald of 3T-Racing took victory in the tandem category, clocking a time of 19.59.

John Iszatt and Dean Lubin of Team Vision Racing – Silverhook were second in 20.35 and in third were Drew Kimbell and Marcus Buksh of Kettering CC in 22.08.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

* A full gallery of images from this event is available here