Penzance Whs

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Jul-18
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: S101/25
  • Closing Date: 19-Jun-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

MacDougall and Ginieres victorious in Penzance Wheelers 25

  • Published: 01 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Victory went to Stacie Ginieres and Gavin MacDougall in the Penzance Wheelers 25-mile time trial, staged in Cornwall on Sunday morning.

The promoting club’s own Ginieres clocked 1-00-23 to win the women’s category by almost two minutes from team-mate Martina Geraghty, while St Austell Wheelers’ Rose Willis was third, another two minutes off the pace.

And in the men’s event, Tavistock Wheelers’ MacDougall clocked 52-40 to take victory by just three seconds from Mid-Devon CC rival Lee Sanderson, while James Hadfield (Giant Helston) was third, another 1-38 behind.

The S101/25 course uses the A30, starting at the junction with the A391 south of Lanivet and heading south west to the junction with the A39 Atlantic Highway before returning up the A30 to the finish just before the start point.

The victory was just the latest in a long string of wins for 35-year-old Stacie Ginieres this season.

The Penzance-based rider has already tasted victory in the St Austell Wheelers 25 and Giant Helston 10 in April, as well as the Penzance Wheelers 19 in May, the Camel Valley C&TC 10, St Austell Wheelers 10 and Mid-Cornwall 10 in June.

But for MacDougall, the 51-year-old Tavistock Wheelers rider, it was his first open victory this season so far but comes after several top ten finishes which include fifth place in the Revo Racing 10 as well as fourth in the City Cycle Couriers 10 in June.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Position          Name  Club  Category    Time

1     Gavin MacDougall  Tavistock Whs CC  Veteran     52:40

2     Lee   Sanderson   Mid Devon CC      Veteran     52:43

3     James Hadfield Senior      54:21

4     Peter Miners      Lanhydrock Wheelers     Veteran     55:15

5     James Grogan Senior      55:44

6     Kevin Dawson      Penzance Wheelers CC    Veteran     55:47

7     Chris Guest St Austell Whs CC Veteran     56:31

8     William     Ginieres    Penzance Wheelers CC    Senior      56:53

9     Graham      lobb Veteran     58:16

10    Peter Maker St Austell Whs CC Veteran     58:29

11    Stacie      Ginieres    Penzance Wheelers CC    Senior      1:00:23

12    Jonny Hewett      Penzance Wheelers CC    Senior      1:00:29

13    Robin Brown St Austell Whs CC Veteran     1:01:52

14    Mark  macleod     Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Veteran     1:02:13

15    Martina     Geraghty    Penzance Wheelers CC    Veteran     1:02:18

16    Rose  Willis      St Austell Whs CC Veteran     1:04:19

17    Jony  Brown Lanhydrock Wheelers     Veteran     1:04:29

18    Deb   Grills      St Austell Whs CC Veteran     1:04:48

19    Hari  Slade Penzance Wheelers CC    Veteran     1:04:56

20    Steven      Smith Penzance Wheelers CC    Veteran     1:08:25

21    Nicola      Rorke Exeter Whs CC     Veteran     1:08:45

22    Richard     Shadbolt    St Austell Whs CC Veteran     1:10:29

23    David Roe   Revo Racing Veteran     1:10:29

DNS   Anthony     Green Penzance Wheelers CC    Senior     

DNF   Mark  Mullen      Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA Senior     

DNS   Philip      Bray  Plymouth Corinthian CC  Senior     

DNS   Nick  French Veteran    

DNF   Rebecca     Campbell    Penzance Wheelers CC    Veteran    

DNS   David Crawford    Lanhydrock Wheelers     Senior     

DNS   James Tribble     Mid Devon CC      Veteran    

DNS   Ian   Deakin      Mid Devon CC      Veteran    

DNS   Stuart      Pickering Veteran    

DNS   John  Morse Audax UK    Veteran    

DNS   Doug  Parker      Sid Valley CC     Veteran