Lincoln Wheelers CC

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Sep-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: chc/1
  • Closing Date: 18-Sep-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Johnson and Harmer victors in Lincolnshire

  • Published: 30 Sep 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Benjamin Harmer took a maiden 2018 open competition victory as Joanne Johnson doubled her tally by winning the Lincoln Wheelers CC hill-climb.

Harmer kick-started what would be a decent weekend for the Wold Top Actif RT team with Harry Lee going on to win the Harrogate Nova CC 10 on Sunday.

According to CTT stats, Harmer’s last victory in open time trialling came this time last year in the Bridlington CC hill-climb. His time of 2-07.4 led the small field of 28 by a good margin of nearly five seconds ahead of next nearest James Gelsthorpe who clocked 2-12.3.

Gelsthorpe (Velo-One CT) has proved himself well this year with eight podiums and three wins to his name. The 31-year-old has only failed to finish outside the top five on three occasions in 14 events.

Sleaford Wheelers CC’s George Thompson completed the podium spots with a time of 2-19.8.

Joanne Johnson doubled her victory tally to two as she won with a time of 3-42.4. After a third and fourth place, Johnson topped the timesheets earlier this month at the Lincolnshire RRA 30-mile and made it back to back with the win this weekend.

The women’s category was much closer run than the men’s with only 2.3 seconds dividing the top two.

Annabel Vella (Sitwell Cycling Club) pushed but wasn’t able to come out on top as she posted a time of 3-44.7. Karen Seal (Lincoln Wheelers CC) was third, over ten seconds back in 3-55.5.

In other categories, fourth overall was Will Beech (Team Jewson) who took the junior prize ahead of James Bottrill in fifth overall. Beech clocked 2-25.6.

Samuel Howes (Sleaford Wheelers CC) was fastest juvenile in 2-35.8.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. This report by Jack Cudworth.