bourne wheelers

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 29-Jul-18
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 0 Miles
  • Course: c15/1
  • Closing Date: 17-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Jarish and Pike beat difficult conditions to win Bourne Wheelers 15

  • Published: 29 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Billy Jarish (Lincoln Wheelers) battled tough conditions to clinch a slender victory in the Bourne Wheelers 15-mile time trial  while Lauren Pike (Fenland RC) won the women’s event.

Jarish, 24 and from Lincoln, also won the Lincoln Wheelers Charity 10 earlier this month and clocked a winning time of 31 minutes and 55 seconds on this occasion.

“It was a really difficult day with several riders not starting and I thought twice about turning up myself,” said Jarish.

“I felt like most of the ride it was a fight to stay on the bike and staying up right as there were gusts of 40 miles per hour winds.

“I was almost not focused on pedalling due to the conditions, so it was nice to see I had won.”

The out and back C15/1 course sees riders start near Threekingham at the top of a 2.5 miles long gradual descent before making the turn and finishing up the gradual climb.

Jarish was chased all the way by Matthew Senter (Team Velovelocity) whose time of exactly 32 minutes was short of victory by five seconds.

An even closer battle for third saw William Charlton (Swinnerton Cycles) finish in 33.13 just two seconds faster than Alistair Golby (Cambridge University CC).

In the women’s event Lauren Pike (Fenland RC) won in 49.04.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

Results :

1          Billy Jarish   Lincoln Wheelers           31.55              

2          Matthew Senter           Team Velovelocity     32.00              

3          William            Charlton          Swinnerton Cycles      33.13              

4          Alistair            Golby  Cambridge Univ CC   33.15              

5          Tim Lister       Spalding CC   33.37              

6          Tom Comben  Bourne Wheelers         33.39              

7          Antony            Gough Velo-One CT  33.52              

8          Chris Kettle    Bourne Wheelers         35.31              

9          Ian Pike               Lincoln Wheelers    35.51              

10        Steve Barrell   Mapperley CC 35.57                                      

Women: Lauren Pike  Fenland RC     49.04