alford wheelers cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Mar-18
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: c25/10
  • Closing Date: 13-Mar-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Colman and Wilkinson take wins for home club in Alford Wheelers 25

  • Published: 26 Mar 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Alex Colman.

Both members of the promoting club, Alex Colman and Tracey Wilkinson were fastest male and female riders respectively at the Alford Wheelers hilly 25-mile time trial in Lincolnshire on Sunday morning.

Colman, 30 and from Lincoln, clocked 57-54 for the C25/10 course near Skendleby, giving him the win by 31 seconds from veteran Darren Yarwood (Vive le Velo), while third spot went to Steve Guymer (Squadra RT), who was 1-07 off Colman’s pace.

Meanwhile, 51-year-old Wilkinson clocked 1-31-59 to take the women’s prize and help Alford Wheelers dominate most categories.

The course takes riders from Gunby roundabout through Ulceby and towards Louth, through Swaby and Burwell before retracing to a finish just short of the start point.

While most people had a good ride with sunny conditions, which had also made the roads unusually busy which helped and hindered depending on your luck. But temperatures are still not much improved and a cold wind blowing in from the sea didn’t help.

One rider was lucky to escape with just cuts and bruises after finding a pot hole which left him with a broken disc wheel, broken tri spoke and a smashed helmet.

In other categories Yarwood was fastest of the veterans, while 17-year-old Jake Jackson (Elmore Factory Racing) was the pick of the juniors with a time of 1-05-25 to finish ninth overall.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Alexander Colman (Alford Wheelers)        57.54

2. Darren Yarwood (Vive le Velo)     58.25

3. Steven Guymer (Squadra RT) 59.01

4. Michiel Vaal (Team Backstedt)59.08

5. Jonathan Bromfield (Alford Wheelers)      1:01.50

6. David Robinson (Flex-Tech Ettridge Cycles)        1:03.12

7. Steve Burrows (Vive le Velo)         1:04.26

8. Ben Shucksmith (Alford Wheelers)            1:04.38

9. Jake Jackson (Elmore Factory Racing)       1:05.25

10. Craig Lamb (Alford Wheelers)     1:05.52

Women: Tracey Wilkinson (Alford Wheelers)           1:31.59

Juniors: Jake Jackson

Veterans: Darren Yarwood