Dooleys RT 2up TTT (entry fee per rider)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Mar-18
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 17 Miles
  • Course: ww17/02
  • Closing Date: 13-Mar-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Doyle and Watson quickest in Bishopton

  • Published: 25 Mar 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

GTR – Return to Life duo Arthur Doyle and Douglas Watson combined to great effect to win the Dooleys RT 2-Up 17 in Bishopton on Saturday.

Arthur Doyle

They completed in a time of 33.40 – 1.20 quicker than second-placed pairing of Ewen MacGillivray and Peter Ettles of RT 23.

Jason Roberts (Glasgow Nightingale) and Alexander McRae (Ivy MVE) completed the podium in third, just six seconds down on second. Lynsey Curran and James Cusick of Dooleys RT were the fastest mixed pairing in a time of 36.01.  

This was the second running of this time trial after the inaugural event last year. The course took in two laps of a section of the famous Westferry 10 course with an added downhill start and uphill finish.

Conditions were excellent given that the previous three weekends of racing have seen much cancellation and postponement. Blue skies and sunshine welcomed the riders and the temperature was at five degrees and there was almost no wind. This also meant this event was the first of the year for a lot of the field.

As far as Scottish roads go these are probably some of the fastest stretches in the country, but this should not detract from the blistering pace of the winning team, averaging 48kph even given the uphill finish. The course record from last year of 33.25 remains intact however.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1 Arthur Doyle / Douglas  Watson  GTR - Return To Life MV 00:33:40

2 Ewen MacGillivray / Peter Ettles RT 23 MVS 00:35:00

3 Jason Roberts / Alexander  MacRae Glasgow Nightingale / Ivy MVE 00:35:06

4 Karl Farmer / Kyle Johnston VC Glasgow South / Pro Vision MSE 00:35:30

5 Angus Wilson / Stewart Irving Dundee Thistle MVS 00:35:54

6 Lynsey Curran / James Cusick Dooleys RT MVFS 00:36:01

7 Gary Bratt / Stuart Whitelaw Fruin Road Club MV 00:36:47

8 Sean Barron / Gordon Stead Fullarton Wheelers MSE 00:36:56

9 Alan Davidson / Stuart Maccallum Dundee Thistle MV 00:38:34

10 Stephen  Malaney / Greg Kerr Glasgow Couriers MVS 00:38:54

11 Gordon  Dick / David Barclay Lomond Roads CC MV 00:39:07

12 Alan  Macintyre / Martin  Gordon  Coatbridge Clarion CC MVS 00:39:24

13 Frazer Bell / Michael Allen Fullarton Wheelers MVS 00:40:03

14 Dougie Muirhead / Calum Muirhead Coatbridge Clarion CC MVE 00:40:21

15 John McCrory / Richard MacPherson Glasgow United CC MV 00:40:26

16 Stephen Hill / Peter Dorrington Lomond Roads CC MV 00:41:32

17 Darren Carruthers / Fleur Stoops Glasgow Green Cycle Club MSFV 00:41:53

18 Gordon McNeil / Gill McNeil Dumfries CC MVFV 00:41:53

19 George Donnelly / William MacDonald Johnstone Wheelers MV 00:41:56

20 Anna Fairweather / Lorna Ferguson RT23 / Glasgow Green Cycle Club FSFV 00:42:04

21 Chris Brown / Stephen Maxwell Lomond Roads CC MVS 00:43:22

22 Deirdre O'Reilly / Julie Fitzpatrick Glasgow Wheelers / Return to Life FV 00:43:40

23 Gordon Raleigh / Jim Seenan Fullarton Wheelers MV 00:43:43

24 Tanjeel Maleque / Manuel Cozzani Royal Albert CC MS 00:45:36

25 Donna Clayton / Janette  Hazlett Glasgow Nightingale CC FV 00:46:03

26 Graeme Daly / John McMonagle Lomond Roads CC MV 00:46:29