rossington wheelers (cheques to richard lunt)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 05-May-18
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: o10/1
  • Closing Date: 24-Apr-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Ainsworth and Deck clinch victories in Rossington Wheelers 10

  • Published: 06 May 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Keith Ainsworth.

Keith Ainsworth (Sheffrec CC) and Alex Deck (Rutland Cycling Club) survived tough road conditions and a head wind to take victories in the Rossington Wheelers 10.

Ainsworth who finished 11th in the Birdwell Wheelers event on the same course last month went 21 seconds faster on this occasion to clinch victory in a time of 21 minutes and 23 seconds.

Taking place along the A614 between Hatfield and Blaxton riders faced a headwind during the opening five miles and a tailwind home which meant times were between 40 seconds and a minute slower for many riders.

Despite the profile being flat riders also had to compete against rough road conditions.

Alex Deck.

That didn’t stop Ainsworth who clinched victory by 13 seconds ahead of Jack Levick (Tuxford Clarion CC) finishing in 21.36 while Nicholas Latimer (Rutland CC) took third a further 12 seconds back.

Levick helped Tuxford Clarion CC to the team prize with his time joined by Shawn Gough for a cumulative time of 43.28.

In the women’s event 50-year-old Alex Deck, from Chesterfield in Derbyshire, clinched a convincing victory clocking a time of 23.57.

Maxx RT duo of Alix Archer (24.47) and Ann Walsham (25.20) took the remaining podium places.

The road bike section saw an impressive ride by Oliver Bridgewood (Spokes BPC Racing) to take victory in 22.41.

He was chased home by Andy Bishop (Andy Moore Autocentres Racing) finishing second in 23.21 while Simon Holmes (Rutland Cycling Club) took third in 24.03.



Open Men

1 Keith Ainsworth Sheffrec CC 21:23

2 Jack Levick Tuxford Clarion CC 21:36

3 Nicholas Latimer Rutland CC 21:48

4 Julian Ramsbottom Team Bottrill 21:52

4 Shawn Gough Tuxford Clarion CC 21:52

6 Joe Le Sage Rutland Cycling Club 22:06

7 Joel Candy uk-featherflags/TRI Race Team 22:10

8 Dan Lowthorpe Rutland Cycling Club 22:14

9 Joseph Hudson Sharrow CC 22:15

10 Andy Thomas Lindsey Roads CC 22:33


Open Women

1 Alex Deck Rutland CC 23:57

2 Alix Archer Maxx RT 24:47

3 Ann Walsham Maxx RT 25:20


Road bike section

1 Oliver Bridgewood Spokes BPC Racing 22:41

2 Andy Bishop Andy Moore Autocentres Racing 23:21

3 Simon Holmes Rutland Cycling Club 24:03

4 Andrew Sedgewick Rutland Cycling Club 24:58

5 Lee Walton Hull Thursday RC 27:42

6 Ryan Williams North Midland Youth Squad 28:54


Team: Tuxford Clarion CC (Jack Levick & Shawn Gough) 43.28