pendle forest cc (100 riders)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 28-Jul-18
  • Time: 18:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: L1015
  • Closing Date: 17-Jul-18 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Bickley and Jones joint winners in Pendle Forest CC 10

  • Published: 29 Jul 18
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+

Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) and Philip Jones (Transition Race Team) posted the same time of 19 minutes and one second to share the spoils in the Pendle Forest CC 10 while Jenny Holl (Team Breeze) won the women’s event.

The fast L1015 course in Cumbria attracted a host of the region’s top riders with over 100 entries and 29 women.

The out and back course which runs along the A590 dropping away from Levens was also hit by poor conditions which effected times and saw a host of riders decide not to start.

Battling for top spot on the day saw Bickley and Jones go head to head and after 10 miles the pair were inseparable, both clocking 19.01 for joint first place.

They were chased home by Alan Thompson (RT23) whose time of 19.30 earned him third ahead of fastest junior Ben Barlow (Kendal CC) 19.49.

The windy conditions didn’t stop under-23 rider Jenny Holl (Team Breeze) from winning the women’s event in a time of 21.28.

Holl’s only other outing this season was in the Rossendale RC Hilly 11 when she was beaten by team-mate Megan Barker.

On this occasion Holl beat Barker and so did Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) who separated the espoir riders in second in 21.45 while Barker took third in 22.06.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.


1= Richard Bickley (Border City Wh) 19.01
1= Philip Jones (Transition Race Team) 19.01
3 Alan Thompson (RT23) 19.30
4 Ben Barlow (Kendal CC) 19.49
5 Joe Simons (Albarosa CC) 19.53
6 Luke Jackson (Harry Middleton CC) 19.55
7 Paul Braithwaite (Pendle Forest CC) 19.56
8 Charlie Page (Green Jersey RT) 20.03
9 Billy Leason (Shutt Ridley RT) 20.06
10 Paul David Fleming (Preston Wheelers) 20.07


1 Jenny Holl (Team Breeze) 21.28
2 Charlotte Boothman (ABC Centreville) 21.45
3 Megan Barker (Team Breeze) 22.06