rttc national championship (closed circuit)(women)(antelope rt)(entries close 04/10/17 )

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Oct-17
  • Time: 09:00
  • Distance: 11.8 Miles
  • Course: P/THRUXTON
  • Closing Date: 04-Oct-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email courses@cyclingtimetrials.org.uk

Lewis and Elliott share women’s title at Thruxton

  • Published: 16 Oct 17
F | T | G+
Women's podium.

Emma Lewis and Rachael Elliott couldn’t be separated at the women’s National Circuit Championships on Sunday, sharing a tie for first place.

Reigning champion Lewis clocked a time of 25.18 and looked to be on course to retain her crown.

But the last rider of the day, Drag2Zero’s Rachael Elliott, matched her time with a fantastic ride and forced a tie for the first time in the competition’s history.

Elliott had come into the event in good form, having broken her own 30-mile national competition record at the beginning of the month in far from ideal conditions.

Elliott said: “I really just wanted to enjoy today, this is not my forte – I’m better suited to riding in straight lines and going round roundabouts! I’ve only ridden one other time trial on a closed circuit, at Castle Coombe this year. I did well in that and enjoyed it so thought I’d give this a go.

Emma Lewis.

“I definitely want to enter again next year, Emma won last year and she’s a very strong crit rider so it’ll be tough.

“The wind got worse as it went on and I really noticed it on the back straight. It didn’t affect me with my wheels but some of the riders were going sideways. This was my last race of the year and I’ll just concentrate on getting a good winter in now.

“The season has superseded my expectations. I had a bit of a slow start but once I got going, it was better than I could have dreamed of.”

Alice Lethbridge, also of Drag2Zero, completed the podium, finishing third in a time of 25.50. Another Drag2Zero rider, Vicky Gill, completed in 28.09, giving them a winning team time of 1:19.17.

Storey Racing trio of Ejay Harris (26.18), Chanel Mason (27.00) and Monica Dew  (27.22) just missed out with a time of 1:20.40.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.

Rachael Elliott.



=1. Emma Lewis (BowlPhish Racing)            25.18

=1. Rachael Elliott (Drag2zero)          25.18

3. Alice Lethbridge (Drag2zero)         25.50

4. Ejay Harris (Storey Racing)            26.18

5. Ruth Summerford (Eastbourne Rovers CC)           26.41

6. Mathilde Pauls (Sigma Sport.co.uk)           26.48

7. Jessica Rhodes-Jones (Beacon Roads CC) 26.50

=8. Angela Carpenter (a3crg) 26.53

=8. Jackie Field (CC Ashwell)            26.53

10. Chanel Mason (Storey Racing)     27.00