chesterfield coureurs (entries close 07/10/17) (cheques to mr. c myhill)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 15-Oct-17
  • Time: 11:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: ohc/8
  • Closing Date: 07-Oct-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Victory for Kenway and Banks on Beeley Moor

  • Published: 15 Oct 17
F | T | G+
Adam Kenway.

Reigning National hill-climb champion Adam Kenway (Raleigh GAC) continued his build-up to this year’s title race with another victory, winning the Chesterfield Coureurs’ climb of Beeley Moor by seven seconds on Sunday.

Kenway, 30 and from nearby Belper, covered the 2.3-mile course in 8:20.2 to win by 7.2 seconds from Kieran Savage (B38-Underpin Racing), while Jonathan Morris (Fishface Cycles RT) was third.

Records fell in a number of categories – with Lizzy Banks (Storey Racing) setting a new mark in the women’s category.

Her time of 10:19.2 sliced five seconds from Lou Bates’ previous record for the OHC8 course, which is a long and steady climb, starting off at around eight per cent gradient before easing off somewhat.

Sheffield-based Banks was 1-16 quicker than second fastest female, Sarah Bell (Maxx RT), while Sarah Harrison (Sheffield Tri Club) was third.

Lizzy Banks.

A misty and slightly chilly morning featured a tailwind for long parts of the course which helped records fall, although Kenway was around three seconds short of breaking the men’s course record set in 2014 by Matt Clinton.

Matlock CC’s Alex Raynard was fastest junior and placed eighth overall with a new junior record time of 9:14.6, giving him the win by 12.4 seconds from Luke Hind (MI Racing-Team Jewson) who had also broken the old record of 9:34.1 set by James Hill, who placed ninth overall in this year’s event.

And the record fell in the team event too, with B38-Underpin Racing trio of Savage, Archie Cross and Rick Bailey making up the winning three.

Fastest veteran was Chris Myhill (Peak Road Club) who clocked 9:32.8 to win the veterans prize, the over-50 veterans prize, and set a new over-50 course record.

And in the juvenile category, Bolsover and Dist CC’s Kieran Smith was fastest with 10:09.3.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



Pos         Name  Club  Time

1     Adam  Kenway      Team Raleigh GAC  Senior      8:20.2

2     Kieran      Savage      Team B38/Underpin Racing      Espoir      8:27.4

3     Jonathan    Morris      Fishface Cycles RT      Senior      8:45.2

4     Archie      Cross Team B38/Underpin Racing      Senior      8:55.7

5     Lee   Baldwin     VCUK Velochampion RT    Senior      9:03.0

6     Eugene      Cross Team KTM    Espoir      9:04.0

7     Christopher Statham     Matlock CC  Espoir      9:11.5

8     Alex  Raynard     Matlock CC  Junior      9:14.6

9     James Hill  RST Racing Team   Espoir      9:15.1

10    Liam  Bromiley    Cycling Sheffield Giant Senior      9:15.4

11    Luke  Hind  Team Jewson - MI Racing Junior      9:27.0

12    Nicholas    Latimer     Rutland Cycling Club    Senior      9:30.7

13    Chris Myhill      Peak Road Club    Vet 50      9:32.8

14    Robert      Telford     Univ of Sheffield CC    Senior      9:35.2

15    James King  OVB   Senior      9:35.9

16    Chris Osment      Matlock CC  Veteran     9:36.4

17    Rick  Bailey      Team B38/Underpin Racing      Senior      9:38.3

18    Alastair    Ribbands    Sunsport Velo CC  Senior      9:40.9

19    Joe   Cox   7 Hills Cycling Club    Senior      9:43.1

20    Paul  Armstrong   Sheffrec CC Senior      9:54.4

21    Will  Beech Team Jewson - MI Racing Junior      9:56.6

22    Tom   Andrews     Univ of Sheffield CC    Senior      9:59.1

23    Ben   Norbury     Congleton CC      Senior      9:59.5

24    Pete  Laud  Common Lane Occasionals Veteran     10:02.8

25    Kevin White Matlock CC  Veteran     10:06.4

26    David Holmes      South Normanton C C     Senior      10:06.7

27    Kieran      Smith Bolsover and District CC      Juvenile    10:09.3

28    James Doxey South Normanton C C     Veteran     10:14.6

29    Elizabeth   Banks Storey Racing     Senior      10:19.2

30    Andrew      Sedgewick   Rutland Cycling Club    Veteran     10:20.5

31    Travis      Pell  CC Ashwell  Junior      10:21.1

32    Ewan  Mackie      Matlock CC  Juvenile    10:21.3

33    Tim   Glenie      Belper BC   Veteran     10:25.2

34    Steve Heading     Matlock CC  Veteran     10:26.2

35    Stewart     Gregory     Nottingham Clarion CC   Vet 50      10:28.5

36    James Stirling    Bolsover and District CC      Senior      10:30.7

37    Bryan Cherry      T.H.R.E. Datawolves R.T.      Senior      10:34.0

38    Trevor      Mayne Birdwell Wheelers Vet 50      10:35.8

39    Hedley      Skelton     Common Lane Occasionals Senior      10:43.3

40    Simon Holmes      Rutland Cycling Club    Veteran     10:43.5

41    Paul  Faulkner    Brighton Phoenix Triathlon Club     Veteran     11:10.0

42    Mike  Adams Mapperley CC      Veteran     11:17.9

43    Lee   Grieve      7 Hills Cycling Club    Senior      11:25.2

44    Robin Barker      Common Lane Occasionals Vet 50      11:25.5

45    John  Hind  Bolsover and District CC      Vet 50      11:27.4

46    Richard     Edwards     Sheffrec CC Senior      11:29.4

47    Josh  Curtis      Lovelo Cinelli RT Espoir      11:31.3

48    Sarah Bell  Maxx R. T.  Senior      11:35.1

49    Pete  Crawforth   Veloviewer  Senior      11:38.2

50    Stephen     Butterworth St Ives CC  Vet 50      11:40.2

51    William     Glover      Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles  Senior      11:45.2

52    James Russell     Macclesfield Wheelers   Vet 50      11:49.0

53    Matthew     Chappell    Worrall Wheelers  Senior      12:17.8

54    Sarah Harrison    Sheffield Triathlon Club      Veteran     12:19.0

55    Daniel      Farrand     Bolsover and District CC      Senior      12:29.1

56    Lee   Cairns      Team Swift  Veteran     12:40.0

57    Sonia Insley      Bolsover and District CC      Veteran     13:16.3

58    Bob   Cuff  Rutland Cycling Club    Veteran     13:17.0

59    Michael     Jervis      Bolsover and District CC      Veteran     13:28.3

60    Carolyn     Gaunt SheHair Racing Team     Senior      13:34.2

61    Michael     Wilkinson   North Notts Olympic CC  Vet 50      13:51.6

62    Paul  Heggie      Birdwell Wheelers Vet 50      14:17.9

      Jihanna     Allard      Univ of Sheffield CC    Espoir      DNS(a)

      Adam  Quixall     Langsett Cycles Race Team     Junior      DNS(a)

      Jez   Reynard     Common Lane Occasionals Veteran     DNS(a)

      Anita Cavell      SheHair Racing Team     Veteran     DNS(a)

      Huw   Owen  Energy Cycling Club/Clwb Beicio Egni      Junior      DNS(a)

      Paul  Forster     7 Hills Cycling Club    Veteran     DNS(a)

      Dominic     Watts Veloviewer  Veteran     DNS(a)

      James       Walker      Matlock CC  Senior      DNS(a)

      Robert      Mitchell    Out of the Saddle CC    Senior      DNS



      Rick  Bailey      Team B38/Underpin Racing           

      Kieran      Savage      Team B38/Underpin Racing           

      Archie      Cross Team B38/Underpin Racing