mid-devon cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 30-Sep-17
  • Time: 12:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: s/widecombe
  • Closing Date: 19-Sep-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Another course record for Simmonds

  • Published: 01 Oct 17
F | T | G+
Hayley Simmonds

Hayley Simmonds claimed her second course record of the day with victory at the second of Mid Devon CC’s hill climb event, with Andrew Feather taking top spot in the men’s competition.

Simmonds had already taken two minutes out of the course record the S20 climb earlier in the day and was at it again on Saturday afternoon with another impressive ride.

The 29-year-old Team WNT Pro Cycling rider clocked 6:09.2 for the shorter 0.93 mile course, taking more than a minute and a half off of Wiebke Rietz’s 2015 record in the same event.

It was a great day for Simmonds, the eleventh-place finish overall securing two stage victories and with it the trophy for Mid Devon CC’s ‘Queen of the Mountains’ competition.

It was second and third once again for Joanne Jago (Performance Cycles) and Ruth Burrows (Mid Devon CC), their respective times 6:42.2 and 7:13.4 would both have been enough to eclipse the previous record if not for Simmonds’ efforts.

Andrew Feather (Bike Chain Ricci) was not in action in the first race of the day, but he was untouchable in his victory in stage two.

Andrew Feather

Feather stopped the clock in 4:37 exactly, giving him a winning margin of 33 seconds over the rest of the field.

Rhys Evans and Joe Norledge recorded their second podium finishes of the day, this time the latter coming out on top.

Norledge (Bristol South CC) clocked 5:10.8, with host club rider Evans having to settle for third, 2.4 seconds behind.

It was the Mid Devon CC rider that took the King of the Mountains trophy across the two stages however, the 18-year-old defeating Norledge by just six tenths of a second.

Meanwhile, another top ten performance from veteran Lee Sanderson (Mid Devon CC) saw him claim the veteran King of the Mountain prize.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Andrew Feather (Bike Chain Ricci)           4:37.0

2. Joe Norledge (Bristol South CC)    5:10.8

3. Rhys Evans (Mid Devon CC)         5:13.2

4. Josh Coyne (Oakhampton CC)       5:23.2

5. Ashley Towey (Mid Devon CC)    5:29.6

6. Ollie Pennington (1st Chard Wheelers)      5:41.7

7. Ben Kerwin (Tavistock Wheelers)  5:44.2

8. Daniel Alford (Bristol South CC)  5:44.7

9. Reuben Bakker-Dyos (BikeRadar) 6:01.8

10. Lee Sanderson (Mid Devon CC)  6:02.5

Women: Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling)         6:09.2 (course record)

Junior: Rhys Evans

Veteran: Lee Sanderson


King of the Mountains: Rhys Evans (Mid Devon CC)

Queen of the Mountains: Hayley Simmonds (Team WNT Pro Cycling)