stocksbridge cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 24-Sep-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 0
  • Course: OHC/9
  • Closing Date: 12-Sep-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Hayward takes stage as Wright secures overall victory

  • Published: 24 Sep 17
F | T | G+
James Hayward

James Hayward powered to victory at stage two of Stocksbridge CC’s hill-climb on Sunday afternoon with Leon Wright claiming the overall title.

After the morning stage on New Mill Bank Road in Ewden, the riders took on the 860-yard Pea Royd Lane climb, host course for the 2009 and 2014 National Hill-Climb Championships.

It was Hayward (Woolwich CC) that came out on top in stage two, stopping the clock in 2:20.6 to take first prize.

That time gave the 37-year-old from London a winning margin of 1.2 second, and was just four tenths outside the course record held by Joseph Clark.

Leon Wright (Race Hub) finished the stage in second with Calum Brown (Team B38-Underpin) taking third in 2:25.8.

With Hayward not participating in stage one though, that mean Wright’s combined performance gave him first place across the day’s competition.

The 35-year-old from Leicester won stage one earlier in the day and his cumulative time of 4:42.6 gave him a total winning margin of 8.3 seconds.

Remarkably, it was a dead heat for second place between three competitors who all clocked exactly the same combined time of 4:50.9.

Brown, teammate Andy Nicholls and defending champion Clark (Cycling Sheffield Giant) could not be separated, so all took home a £25 runners up prize.

Due to the circumstances prizes were also awarded to the next two riders, they were Kieran Wynne-Cattanach and Hamish Mcdougall, who were fifth and sixth overall combined.

There was no such drama in the women’s competition, where Rebecca Goodson (Velo Schils Interbike) made it back to back wins.

Goodson clocked 3:20.3 on Sunday afternoon to take the stage win and the overall title in a time of 6:34.9.

Emilie Verroken (Maxx RT) was a non-starter for stage one, but she took second on Pea Royd Lane, with Jo Holden finishing third for an overall second place finish.

Elsewhere, Jon Wild (Veloviewer) backed up his victory in stage one with another in stage two to claim the veteran’s prize.

Team Jewson – MI Racing rider Luke Hind was a second ahead of teammate Robert McAndrew after the first stage, but Hind pressed home that advantage in stage two adding 5.8 seconds to the gap to claim the junior prize.

Finally, there was more success for Calum Brown and Andy Nicholls, who along with Rick Bailey, scooped the team prize for B38-Underpin in a total time of 15:17.1.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.