kent ca

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 13-Aug-17
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 50 Miles
  • Course: q50/1
  • Closing Date: 01-Aug-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

No Course Map

If you have a map of this course, please email

Kent CA 50 wins for Fennell and Smart

  • Published: 13 Aug 17
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell.

Chris Fennell (Thanet RC) and Jennifer Smart (VC Norwich) were fastest male and female riders at the Kent Cycling Association 50-mile time trial in Kent on Sunday morning.

Fennell, 21 and from Thanet, beat older brother Nicholas Fennell by exactly seven minutes, while John Cockrill (Abellio-SFA RT) was third, another 48 seconds back.

And veteran Jennifer Smart won the women’s category with a time of 2-51-57, putting her more than eight minutes ahead of the next best female rider.

Fennell’s victory is the latest of many victories he has secured in open time trials so far this year.

July has seen him win the VTTA Kent 10 and 50, the West Kent RC 25 and the San Fairy Ann CC 10, while in June he was victorious in the VTTA Kent 25, the Kent CA 100 and the Kent CA 50.

Other wins this season include the Bigfoot CC 25, the De Laune CC 25, the Kent CA 10 and Thanet RC two-up 9.5 as well as the Kent CA 25 in April.

Fastest female Jennifer Smart is no stranger to winning, and has been prolific in riding time trials in 2017 with more than 24 open rides in the bag.

Last month she was crowned women’s winner at the East District 100-mile Champion, and also placed second woman in the District 15-mile Championship, while June saw her place third in the CC Breckland 10.

In May she was second in the Stowmarket and District CC 10 as well as third woman in both the VC Norwich 25 and VC Baracchi 10, while in April she teamed up with Mark Smart and was the best team with a woman in the Diss and District  two-up 25.

Earlier in the year she won the CC Breckland 10 in March, while she was second fastest female the week after that, in the CC Sudbury 22-mile TT.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1          Christopher Fennell     Thanet RC       Espoir  1:47:35

2          Nicholas Fennell         Thanet RC       Senior  1:54:35

3          John Cockrill   Abellio - SFA Racing Team    Senior  1:55:23

4          John Osborn    Folkestone Velo Club Vet      1:58:01

5          Lee Buckman  Ashford Whs  Vet      2:02:55

6          Mark Hill Aerosmiths            Vet      2:04:29

7          Keith Walker   Wigmore CC   Vet      2:05:23

8          Allan Ng         Abellio - SFA Racing Team    Vet      2:07:05

9          Christopher Bax          PMR @ Toachim House         Vet      2:15:45

10        Miguel Pereira Velosport CC  Senior  2:19:07

11        Mark Smart     VC Norwich   Vet      2:20:17

12        Neal Watson   7 Oaks Tri       Vet      2:23:40

13        Rob Weston    Elite Cycling   Vet      2:23:43

14        Jennifer Smart VC Norwich   Vet      2:51:57

15        Vicki Heard    Cycling Club Hackney            Senior  3:00:33

            Lee Kingston  Medway Velo Club    Vet      DNF

            Emma Houghton         7 Oaks Tri       Senior  DNS

            Huck Garip     Thanet RC       Vet      DNS

            Timo Hendy    Pearson Cycling Club Senior  DNS

            Carl Stephens    Basildon CC   Vet      DNS

            James Cooper  7 Oaks Tri       Senior  DNS

            Oliver Stevens  Southborough & Dist. Whs    Vet      DNS

            Neil Hornett    PMR @ Toachim House         Senior  DNS

            Caro Harper    Brixton Cycles Club   Senior  DNS