vtta (kent group)(all ages)(kent group champs)

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 02-Jul-17
  • Time: 06:30
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: q10/30
  • Closing Date: 20-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Fennell and Goodban power to VTTA event victories

  • Published: 02 Jul 17
F | T | G+
Chris Fennell.

Chris Fennell (Thanet RC) clocked an impressive 19.32 on his way to victory in the VTTA (Kent) 10-mile time trial near Reculver, while his team-mate Nicola Goodban was fastest female.

The 21-year-old took the win by more than one minute from his nearest rival, 55-year-old Kevin Tye (VeloRefined Aerosmiths), while Tye’s team-mate Andrew Meilak took third, the 51-year-old being another 14 seconds back.

Fastest female was 45-year-old Nicola Goodban (Thanet Road Club) who covered the distance in 24.37, giving her the win in that category by just five seconds from Charmaine Pullen (Adalta CC).

Starting to the east of Herne Bay, the course took riders east along the A229 to a turn at Monkton, before tracing back to a finish just short of the start point.

Fennell’s winning performance is the latest of many victories he has secured in open time trials so far this year. In fact he has only once been beaten, by Keith Murray in the West Kent RC 10 back in April.

Since then he has won the Thanet RC two-up 9.5-mile time trial and Kent CA 10 in April, while in May he was victorious in the De Laune CC 25 and Bigfoot CC 25, while he won the Kent CA 50 last month.

And for Goodban, this was her first open victory of the season, although her previous performances have seen her take third female alongside Rick Perkins in the Thanet RC two-up in April.

Oliver Robinson continued Thanet Road Club’s strong showing at the event when he clocked 20.56 to take fifth overall and finish as the pick of the junior riders.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



No.         Name  Club  Time

1     Chris Fennell     Thanet RC   19:32

2     Kevin Tye   VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths    20:33

3     Andrew      Meilak      VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths    20:47

4     John  Cockrill    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     20:53

5     Oliver      Robinson    Thanet RC   20:56

6     Nicholas    Fennell     Thanet RC   20:57

7     Nick  Dwyer Lewes Wanderers CC      21:06

8     Dan   Martin      University of Bath Cycling Club     21:09

9     Tom   Rowing      Abellio - SFA Racing Team     21:23

10    Matthew     Stammers    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     21:34

11    Mark  Baker Abellio - SFA Racing Team     21:38

12    Simon Henderson   Thanet RC   21:45

13    Tim   Kingston    GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical      21:52

14    Rodney      Smith Wigmore CC  21:52

15    John  Osborn      Folkestone Velo Club    21:55

16    Christian   Yates East Grinstead CC 22:02

17    Huck  Garip Thanet RC   22:04

18    Mark  Hill  VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths    22:08

19    Gary  Grayland    CC Bexley   22:09

20    Mark  Doxey Abellio - SFA Racing Team     22:11

21    Shaun Williams    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     22:16

22    Richard     Williams    Bigfoot CC  22:26

23    Colin Newton      PMR @ Toachim House     22:27

24    Paul  Smith VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths    22:29

25    Simon Wix   VTTA (South Wales)      22:29

26    Lee   Buckman     Ashford Whs 22:30

27    Adrian      Lyons GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical      22:33

28    Martin      Foord Abellio - SFA Racing Team     22:35

29    Scott Meeks Thanet RC   22:40

30    Karl  Strugnell   Kassei CC TeknoFuel     22:48

31    Andy  Branson     Ashford Whs 22:50

32    Matt  Williams    Abellio - SFA Racing Team     23:13

33    Dave  Stocker     Abellio - SFA Racing Team     23:17

34    Allan Ng    San Fairy Ann CC  23:26

35    Nicholas    Scott Thanet RC   23:28

36    Colin Robinson    Thanet RC   23:32

37    Matthew     Hall  Thanet RC   23:41

38    Martin      Russell     Thanet RC   23:42

39    Chris Bax   PMR @ Toachim House     23:49

40    Tony  Day   Bigfoot CC  23:49

41    Danny Frost Folkestone Velo Club    23:52

42    Anthony     Attwood     San Fairy Ann CC  24:00

43    Paul  Kelk  Thanet RC   24:18

44    Lance Childs      Thanet RC   24:21

45    Nick  Fretwell    Brixton Cycles Club     24:23

46    Nicola      Goodban     Thanet RC   24:37

47    Mick  Claydon     Ashford Whs 24:39

48    Charmaine   Pullen      Adalta Cycling Club     24:42

49    Shay  Giles VC Elan - Harry Perry Cycles  24:44

50    Jeremy      Edwards     Thanet RC   24:49

51    Mark  Vowells     CC Bexley   25:03

52    Neal  Watson      7 Oaks Tri  25:04

53    Paul  Kirkness    Thanet RC   25:09

54    Brian Hood  Thanet RC   25:10

55    Dean  Painter     MedwayTri   25:17

56    Thierry     Huser Dulwich Paragon CC      25:46

57    Graham      Strugnell   Kassei CC TeknoFuel     25:53

58    Dave  Mastin      Thanet RC   25:58

59    Jeremy      Saynor      PMR @ Toachim House     26:22

60    Charlie     Burgess     Thanet RC   26:31

61    David Barnes      Gravesend CC      26:33

62    Emma  Juden San Fairy Ann CC  26:50

63    Chris Childs      Thanet RC   27:43

64    Edward      Piper-Brown Thanet RC   28:05

65    Paul Simon  Griffiths   Thanet RC   28:11

66    Malcolm     Adams De Laune CC 28:26

67    Dave  Holmes      Thanet RC   29:07

68    Susan Shields     Thanet RC   31:02

69    Jennifer    Fearn Thanet RC   31:52

70    Freya Cook  Thanet RC   32:52

      David Danton      Thanet RC   TBA

      Bronwen     Ewing Rye & District Wheelers CC    TBA

      Martin      Jones Gemini BC   DNF

      Mike  Kirkness    Thanet RC   DNF

      Dean  Chapman     Ashford Road CC   DNS

      Colin Record      West Kent RC      DNS

      Karl  Ford  Medway Velo Club  DNS

      Simon Charles     Thanet RC   DNS

      David Mackey      Medway Velo Club  DNS

      David Smith VC de Londres     DNS

      Mark  Gidney      Southborough & Dist. Whs      DNS

      Theo  Tadros      In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT      DNS

      Grant Cousins     BowlPhish Racing  DNS

      Bill  Hawkes      Thanet RC   DNS

      Kelly Wyld  4 T+ Velo Club    DNS

      Mark  Palmer      Thanet RC   DNS

      Andrew      Hill  VC Deal     DNS

      Pete  Elms  VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths    DNS

      Shawn Manning     Thanet RC   DNS

      Spencer     Wood  BowlPhish Racing  DNS

      Fabien      Large Direct Power Cycling Team     DNS

      Peter Tadros      In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT      DNS

      Paul  Burrows     Thanet RC   DNS