norwich abc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 01-Jul-17
  • Time: 14:00
  • Distance: 10 Miles
  • Course: b10/43
  • Closing Date: 20-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Senter quickest over 10 miles in Suffolk

  • Published: 02 Jul 17
F | T | G+

Good conditions welcomed the riders who took part in the 10-mile Norwich ABC time trial in Wortwell, Suffolk on Saturday and it was a Team Velovelocity one-two with Matthew Senter getting the better of team mate Daniel Bloy.

It was a third win on the bounce for Senter, who topped the standings in the East District CA Championships over 10 and 25 miles on his last two appearances.

Senter, who has done a 19.05 over this distance on the notoriously fast V718 route, posted a time of 20.26 to win this event and Bloy, fresh from victory in the Iceni Velo 10 last week, was just off the pace, completing in 20.41, 15 seconds slower than Senter.

Wigmore CC’s Lyster Romero occupied the third step of the podium, completing in 20.55, 14 seconds down on Bloy’s time. Bob Watson (Team Bottrill – HSS Hire) was top veteran in 21.28

The road used for the event sees sudden surges of traffic and then it can be very quiet for long periods, making it more difficult for some riders.

With a strong women’s field, organisers tried to send all of the women entrants in the first 20 riders in an attempt to provide a level playing field.

It proved to be a competitive contest with Denise Hurren of Sole Bay Cycle Sport winning with a time of 24.10. Rachel Holman of Tri -Anglia Triathlon Club stopped the clock at 24.32 to finish second and Mandy Bunn (CC Sudbury) was third in 25.00.

Only two riders entered the National Youth Championship category with Bethany Barnett (Kings Lynn CC) fastest in 29.34 and Molly Cutmore (TPH Racing) completing in 30.26.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.




1. Matthew Senter (Team Velovelocity) 20.26

2 Daniel Bloy (Team Velovelocity) 20.41

3 Lyster Romero (Wigmore CC) 20.55

Veteran: Bob Watson (Team Bottrill – HSS Hire) 21.28


1 Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Cycle Sport) 24.10

2 Rachel Holman (Tri -Anglia Triathlon Club) 24.32

3 Mandy Bunn (CC Sudbury) 25.00


1. Bethany Barnett (Kings Lynn CC) 29.34

2. Molly Cutmore (TPH Racing) 30.26