hemel hempstead cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 25-Jun-17
  • Time: 07:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: F13/25
  • Closing Date: 13-Jun-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Travis smashes course record in commanding win

  • Published: 25 Jun 17
F | T | G+

Stuart Travis powered to a comfortable victory in the senior race at the Hemel Hempstead CC 25 with Kristin Stolpe taking the women’s prize on Sunday morning.

Travis (Team Bottrill/HSS Hire) was the last rider to get under way, with host club man Ben Stowe having set the time to beat at 51.51 for the 25-mile course mostly along Aylesbury Road.

The 32-year-old from Coventry put in a strong display though to take a sizable victory, stopping the clock at 50.28 for a winning margin of over a minute and 20 seconds and a new course record.

Travis has been in good form in 2017, with podium finishes in both the national team time trial and national circuit championships in the last two weekends to add to earlier individual successes at the Walsall RCC and Royal Sutton CC 10-mile events to name but a few.

“It’s the age-old time triallers excuse I guess, but I was pretty tired going into today,” Travis said after victory, I had to measure my effort and not go too hard too early.

“I know the course after riding it last year and it’s a rough single carriageway. I got to the turn quicker than expected and thought it would be a tough coming back.”

Travis did not struggle in the second half though, and his time of 50.21 beat the existing course record by exactly 40 seconds that was set back in 2008.

On his recent form, Travis has been surprised with how well his first full season has been going.

“I’m gobsmacked, after the bronze at the circuit championships and I think seven open time trial wins this year, I never expected to be up there so soon.

Travis now hopes for a good ride in the National 25 Championships before heading off to Albi in France for the UCI Amateur World Time Trial in August.

“I had a good result at the Tour of Cambridge qualifier winning my age group by a minute so it would be daft not to take up my ride, but I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself and I will use it as a benchmark for next season.

“I also want to say how important the team have been to me, they have been fantastic. I have been coached by Dan Barnett since the end of last year and the support he and they team give makes all the difference,” he added.

It was Stowe who had to settle for second place in the end with Luke Clarke (TMG Horizon Cycling Team) completing the top three a further 52 seconds back.

Mark Avil (Baines Racing Silverstone) put in a strong display to claim the veterans prize, posting a time of 56.21 to finish seventh overall, a ride which was 12.58 inside the standard time.

Kristin Stolpe (Lovelo Cinelli RT) claimed victory in the women’s competition, taking the top prize in a time of 1:02.39.

Stolpe, 34 and from Berkhamstead, was almost three minutes inside her nearest rival Zoe Adams (Hemel Hempstead CC) who was second.


* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission.



1. Stuart Travis            Team Bottrill / HSS Hire 50:28

2. Ben Stowe  Hemel Hempstead CC            51:51

3. Luke Clarke TMG Horizon Cycling Team  52:43

4. Josh Crow-Stewart Hemel Hempstead CC            53:04

5. James Richardson   North Bucks RC         53:06

6. Todd Hooper           Onyx RT         56:12

7. Mark Avil   Baines Racing Silverstone Cycle        56:21

8. Steve Torley            Team Milton Keynes  57:50

9. Michael Parker        TMG Horizon Cycling Team  58:02

10. Nick Clarke           Lovelo Cinelli RT       58:07

=11. James Barlow     Didcot Phoenix CC     58:13

=11. Mark Constable  CC Ashwell     58:13

13. Glenn Longland    Antelope Racing Team           58:34

14. Andrew Bradley   Hemel Hempstead CC            58:48

15. Richard Hutt         Harp RC          59:14

16. Craig Harper         Verulam CC    59:28

17. Dave Johnson        VC 10  59:33

18. Carl Adams           Team Bottrill / HSS Hire        59:57

19. Robert Taylor        Echelon Cycling         1:00:08

20. Richard Boley       Hemel Hempstead CC            1:00:40

21. Mark Harris           Team Trident  1:00:52

22. Trevor Hook         Team Milton Keynes  1:01:22

23. Jonathan Peters     Team Milton Keynes  1:01:50

24. Kristin Stolpe        Lovelo Cinelli RT       1:02:39

25. Chris Symonds     North Road CC           1:02:46

26. Desmond Gayler   Kenton RC      1:03:03

27. Richard Moule      Bossard Whs   1:03:45

28. Zoe Adams           Hemel Hempstead CC            1:05:38

29. Nigel Swift           Verulam CC    1:06:07

30. Christine Pout       Verulam Really Moving         1:08:00

31. Keith Richardson  Mildenhall CC 1:12:03

32. Mark Pankhurst    Hemel Hempstead CC            1:12:38

33. Trevor Watson      Bossard Whs   1:18:06

34. Bruno Cabrelli       Hemel Hempstead CC            1:21:43