bridlington cc

  • Hide Map
  • Date: 21-May-17
  • Time: 08:00
  • Distance: 25 Miles
  • Course: v433
  • Closing Date: 09-May-17 23:59
  • Categories:
    • Juvenile
    • Junior
    • Espoir
    • Senior
    • Veteran
    • Para

Dean and Sharp amongst Bridlington winners

  • Published: 21 May 17
  • Written By: Frazer Snowdon
F | T | G+
Richard Dean.

Richard Dean and Fiona Sharp claimed victories in their respective races at the Bridlington CC 25-mile time trial on Sunday.

There were southerly winds for the riders to contend with making the going fairly difficult, but there were some strong performances on the day.

It was the tenth edition of the event and despite the absence of multi-time winner Joel Wainman, it was one of the strongest fields so far with Dean coming out on top in the senior race.

The Team Swift rider from Barnsley claimed the win in a time of 54.23, a winning margin of 35 seconds on the rest of the field.

There was a tie for second place, with Dean’s veteran teammate Dave Bramley tying with Cavan Walker (Prologue RT) to complete the podium.

Joint second was a remarkable effort from 16-year-old Walker, who was not only first junior but beat his personal best over the distance by nearly two minutes with a time of 54.58.

In dramatic fashion, it was Anthony Bromley who finished fourth in a time of 55.19. However, the SSLL Racing Team rider had incurred a one-minute late start penalty without which would have seen him claim overall victory by four seconds.

Fiona Sharp was not only the winner of the women’s race but she set a new women’s course record for the V433 in the process.

The York Cycleworks rider’s time of 1:03.36 gave her the new record, and also a victory of just under a minute from nearest challenger Debra Charlesworth (Cliff Pratt Racing).

Other prize winners included seventh place Michael Schofield who was the fastest veteran in the 50-59 category, Tony Stott (VTTA) in the 60+ category and Jim Trevor in the Mg72 race.

* All reports are copyright of Cycling Time Trials/Snowdon Sports. Not to be used without permission. 



1. Richard Dean (Team Swift)            54.23

=2. Dave Bramley (Team Swift)         54.58

=2. Cavan Walker (Prologue RT)       54.58

4. Anthony Bromley (SSLL Racing Team)    55.19

5. Mark Wolstenholme (Team Swift) 55.59

6. Nick Rogers (Team Swift)  56.17

7. Michael Schofield (Clifton CC York)        56.47

8. Stephen Dodds (Scarborough Paragon)     57.09

9. Melvin Blackford (Vive Le Velo)  58.25

10. Gareth Bruff (Barnsley Road Club)         58.41

Women: Fiona Sharp (York Cycleworks)       1:03.36 (CR)

Veterans 40+: Dave Bramley

Veterans 50+: Michael Schofield

Veterans 60+: Tony Stott (VTTA)

Medium Gear: Jim Trevor (Hull Thursday RC) 1:03.31